What makes for a great introduceyourself post?

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

Hello seasoned Steemians,

Can you please help me figure out why some #introduceyourself posts seem to do really well and others (like the one I posted this morning) don't?

I thought long and hard about my introducemyself below I posted this morning.  I sweated it off.  After all, I was putting myself on display, instead of eating my birthday cake.  It earned $ 0.86 as of now. That may be great  if things go like Bitcoins (I have not figured out what to do with all of that 0.86 yet). 

Maybe I thought too much about what to write?

https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@thisgirl/why-gray-hair-is-a-life-lesson-and-a-metaphor-for-the-best-to-come-nice-to-meet-you-on-my-birthday-steemit

Did my introduction suck that much?  Where? Honesty is a gift, so go for it!

You "older" Steemians may have figured a few things out about what make posts work.  Could you please give me a hint or two? Consider your feedback a birthday present to me.

For example, I am really glad that these posts below did well, truly.  How awesome! They made a lot of $ in a short time.  Why?

https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@petererik/hello-steemit-it-s-a-pleasure-to-be-here

Or this one:

https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@icuz/my-self-introduction-hallo-salam-kenal-dari-icuz-blora-c811be3a8bfc3

and this one:

https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@k-a-s-i-a/warm-hello-from-k-a-s-i-a-and-welcome-to-my-little-big-world

Thank you Steemians!

claudia

(P.S.: Pictured above: me bicycling on water in Annecy, France)

Sort:  

Could be some people have a lot of friends on the site when they join .
Also some have more steem power than others, makes big difference .
Some just luck of the draw , like time of day and such .
Also the post itself just may catch the eye ,,
My 1st post was awfull .
keep at it ,
I'll 100 percent up vote to make you feel better though - good luck

Thank you so much Jkenny! Wow!

If it's just luck of the draw, then content does not matter as much?

Thanks for the 100% upvote. That was very nice of you! I feel all fuzzy inside now.

But, do I need to undress to make $?
This girl, on her first day on steemit, and she made $95+
https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@mininthecity/introduceyourself

BTW: Following!

Not every posts makes a lot of money. My introductory post made $0.04! So don't feel badly. Some people don't write an introductory post until they have been here awhile. You need to engage. Read and comment on others posts so they get to know you. Steemit takes some work. It is not instant money like some people wish for. You get out of it what you put in. Many folks come here thinking they will make boodles of money with out putting in the effort. Enjoy the ride. Don't worry about the monetary value. It will drive you crazy.

Very true ,, Heres a young new member worth taking a look at his stories, He is trying to get started here , Here is his last post ,, upvoted , Thanks

https://steemit.com/life/@mkkenny13/2017-a-year-in-review

Okay Dad! Gotcha! Looked at the post. Upvoted and following.

Referring to the comment above. Dad asking for me to look at son's post.

0.86 great
I do not even get $ 1 for articles written over 5 hours 😅

That's interesting. I noticed that my post goes nowhere after the first hour or so. The posts above made over $30 in the first hour. Why?

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #smartphonephotography, the weekly selection will be released on Sunday.

You have earned 5.25 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.05
Server time: 05:30:44
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 113.11/200.00
Total Photos: 17
Total comments: 3
Total contest wins: 1
And have also received a 0.50 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

welcome to steemit @thisgirl, best regards..
hopefully you feel at home here. 😊

Thank you! Not quite yet.....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69692.63
ETH 3775.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76