Raising money for Grenfell Tower Residents in London

in #steemit7 years ago

One of the benefits that Steemit has over traditional social media is that your posts can earn you money directly via Steem Dollars (which can be easily converted to Bitcoin, and then if you want, cash).

site-4.png

If you are from UK you will have seen that there was a devastating fire in West London this morning in which at least 12 people died.


All SBD from this post will be converted to Bitcoin and sent as a donation from Steemit to the Evening Standard Just Giving Dispossessed Fund.

Thanks for reading and voting

Sort:  

This is very sad when I saw the news. Still can't imagine how this can happen nowadays. What happen did happen. I can only wish the unfortunate people got killed all R.I.P.
@thisisbenbrick, good idea to support those got hurt (physically and mentally) in this fire.
Hope that we will get update from you the progress of this initiative. Big thanks to you.

@thisisbenbrick,
If you can help with information on how to get refund or recovering my steem from coinbase. I will be able to donate some steem.
Please contact me if you are able to help. [email protected]

I can not believe that happened. We need to do something! the steemit community can combine resources and do anything!! just got a new follower and an upvote.....I also produce music on Abelton.

It is said that to see those people suffered in the fire. And I think people have to learn from mistakes after taking so much cost on it. Hope that the regulations can be more comprehensive and also the government has a good plan for the aftermath. God bless them. RIP....

Its a shame they couldn't just free up part of the greenbelt and build containerised social housing. Container city would stop shit like this happening.

I think this is a good idea. But he main point is that there should be a strict regulation about the fireproof ability in building, especially on the old one. There are many old buildings in London and the government have to supervise throughly for preventing those tragedies happen...

Unfortunately I am one of those insane libertarians who believe that regulation is a problem in the overall, it causes way too many deaths (and costs for society in terms of public jobs that everyone else/their kids need to pay for). The poor fireproofing of old buildings is just terrible though, and of course I feel for the people who have lost loved ones.

That's great to donate money to those who are in need, but you said "All SBD from this post", how about the Steem Power? Will it also be powered down and donated to the residents?

SP will be transferred as Steem instantly without waiting for the power down

This is why Steemit is amazing. Good on you, Ben. Praying for those affected.

I'm new here like 2 days now. And i've seen some beautifull things happening here on Steem, like the guy who needed money to fund his operation. I don't think we can fund this whole tower but we can definitly help a bit!

Im new as well todays my first day. Its amazing to see good things are happening through steemit. Feels like an honor to be apart of it, I hope we can bring positive and creative content to this. :)

I wish my upvote was worth more! Thanks for doing this, it will mean a lot to the people who lost everything last night!

all up , votes are worth it

What a great way to raise some funds for those in need. Right on brother, this is the stuff we want to happen on Steem, none of this backbiting crap!!

Hey, @thisisbenbrick Nice to see others trying to raise money for the victims. I was there, and my brother was actually in the building. Check out my story, I think you'll find it interesting.

https://steemit.com/apartment/@feed-me-more/grenfell-tower-fire-my-brother-was-there

Very good initiative:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.12
JST 0.030
BTC 69538.89
ETH 3692.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.26