To niche or not to niche - that is today's question.

in #steemit6 years ago

439H.jpg
In my introductory post I shared some of my history and experiences, and ended by pointing out my specialty (the mind and human behavior) that got me invited to this community in the first place.

The inviting party had encouraged me to come here to share some of the things I've learned throughout my life and career. But as I read more and more of the posts on this wonderful community and see the mind boggling range of topics available, I find myself wondering:

To niche or not to niche? (That is a silly question.)

For while focusing on your specialty is the recommended way to go from a "marketing" standpoint - I'm not really here to market myself, am I? I am only here to share, discuss and - hopefully - entertain.

And while I might have some insights into my specialty that might help and inspire some. Who is to say that the most important entry I write here can't turn out to be about fish and fish tanks, photography, the weird things about being a Norwegian immigrant to the US, or about how I got robbed by a topless girl on the streets of Rio (hasn't happened, but give it a week)?

Being the newbie that I am, however, I do not know what the standard operating procedure here on the wonderful Steemit is. So I turn to you, dear reader, who almost certainly has more experience here than I do, and I ask:

What is your advice? Focus on what I know best how to write about, or throw caution to the wind and accept the title of "jack of all trades, master of none" so that I can ramble on about whatever my brain is obsessing about at any given moment?

What do YOU do? Please leave a comment about what seems to work best for you, so that I can explore more profiles, see how YOU do things, learn - and hopefully connect.

Sincerely yours in over thinking,
TJ

Sort:  

Congratulations @tjguttormsen! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @tjguttormsen! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 64161.84
ETH 2950.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60