My First Daily Steemit Blog : How I found Steemit

in #steemit5 years ago (edited)

Steemit-750x472.jpg

Hello my fellow Steemians,

Welcome to my first daily blog about the Steemit platform. I've been here 10 months not and feel I've got enough experience with the system to start writing my daily opinions and experiences. I'm going to start with a little background on how I came to Steemit.

I want to be 100% HONEST in these blogs, it's not always going to be puppies and rainbows but anytime I approach something in a negative manner, I'll try to give solutions I feel might work in order to give substance to my talk. I hope you enjoy the little write up !

Steemit and other blockchain social media based coins are unique systems with multiple ways you can invest. You can invest with money, blogs, media content and creating DApps and infrastructure for the Steemit system. I don't think I know anything else with so many angles of investment. Because of this we all approach and find Steemit in different ways and approach the platforms in various manners.

I've been making music since the age of 18 but in recent years have really started to take it serious. Like many people I'd just post a song on Soundcloud, never promote it and call it a day. Around the age of 35 I started promoting my work and made a You Tube channel. I was surprised with the growth of You Tube and it motivated me to push harder, thinking I could possibly make a living off my content and art.

I'm currently almost 1 million views and 5,000 subs, 100% organic. I never spend money buying votes, subs or comments. That's for losers who can't make content people want to watch. The motivation of my You Tube growth made me want to push harder, find new platforms and new outlets for my content and music. This lead to me reading about Steemit.

You Tube Link : https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCLIto_eLYSGNO_nZCu93qNg

0_SUwskl5kRI6AZz3F.jpg

I was always interested in crypto but knew NOTHING about the topic, it was all alien talk to my ears. I was always so deep into my music and art that I never got the time to look at cypto as a serious investment. Reading about Steemit was the first time my passions and crypto crossed paths. Beyond that Bitcoin was around 18,000k and ALL THE RAGE on the news. This obviously made my interest peak a little bit, having a chance to " dip my toes" in the crypto world 100% off content.

The final nail in the coffin was reading about Dsound and Dtube. Once I saw music and video had niche support on the blockchain I was 100% sold to try the experience and started posting a few You Tube videos in order to " test the water ".

@heimindanger or one of his curation team memebers gave me my first real juicy Steemit upvote and within a month after that @prc found me on Dsound. The amount of support I was getting from Dtube and Dsound trumped anything I was getting on You Tube and that's with almost 1 million views. Dtube and Dsound both do AMAZING work as keeping content creators interested in the Steemit platform.

Steemit should be proud of Dtube and Dsound. They are both systems being built and have issues that need to be resolved but the amount of support and work they've done so far is AMAZING. I know they have some " haters", that's part of life and everyone is welcome to a opinion. I feel without these systems Steemit would lose many good content creators because they would get overlooked.

My first 2 months are PURE honeymoon phase, I love everything about Steemit/Dtube and Dsound at this point. I didn't really realize the limited voting pool, voting bots, whale down vote wars and other issues that are hurting the system.

Even with the growing pains of Steemit I've got a lot of faith we can carve this system into something we want in the future. The great thing about this platform is we have the ability to talk, give opinions and help shape the future of Steemit.

Blockchain-information-age.jpeg

I've made so many amazing friends on this platform in the 10 months I've been on Steemit. I need to thank some people for the friendship over the last 10 months, these are just a few names.

@vachemorte @dvine @waybeyondpadthai @tuckerjtruman @drumoperator @bobaphet @whinny @hopehuggs @moshitunes @noisenerd @juliakponsford @gray00 @clixmoney @greencross @artakush @icondark @alphasteem @d00k13 @techcoderx @drkent

Special thank you to @crimsonclad helping out the very FIRST day. I doubt she even remembers but her advice was important for my success and longevity here on Steemit.

When it comes to support I really need to thank @fulltimegeek @dtube @dsound. I've seen @nathanmars and @thejohalfiles giving UNREAL support to content creators and Steemians, you guys are perfect examples of what this platform should be. Then I really need to thank @Acidyo because his daily wall of text is what motivated me to start doing these post.

I'm going to keep pushing 100% original content into the Steemit system while starting to invest my first form of cash into Steem during this long bear market. I'll be investing next months You Tube payout into Steem !

Thank you to ANYONE who has supported my work since in the past, present or future.

Till next time, stay creative

  • Todd
Sort:  

Right on dude good to see you blogging, I find it very therapeutic myself.

Sounds like you have a pretty solid YouTube channel, obviously you have started making payouts but how long did that take?

Wow 10 months on Steem, we started here nearly the same time... I caught heimindangers very first interview while I was researching crypto which lead me to DTube and I signed up for steemit so I could start interacting hopefully to earn some rewards.... ohh how that all changed so quickly, never thought in a million years I would be a vlogger 😆

Posted using Partiko iOS

It took me about 3 months to start getting payouts of You Tube. The most I've made was 120$ a month but then i found Steemit, I kinda slowed down You Tube. The payments dropped all the way to 30$ but last month I started to focus a bit on YT again to diversify and take advantage of all platforms. I'm back up to 68$ for this month ATM.

Yes, we started about the same time my friend =)

You are truly an inspiration Todd <3

Thank you very much ! You've been a very good friend and it means a lot. Thank you for the support since day 1 !

Keep it up my friend. Gotta find the time to read it all. But will do and will comment again.

Cheers!

Posted using Partiko Android

No rush broskies =)

Awesome first blog man. I'm looking forward to reading more. It's crazy how you have grinded since 19, but I guess we all share a similar story. Glad to know more about you.

Keep keeping it real.

Cheers

Posted using Partiko Android

Hell yea homie ! Glad to meet you on this platform

Hi @toddjsmith1979, I'm @checky ! While checking the mentions made in this post I noticed that @vachmorte, @waybeyondpadtai, @whinny, @moshtunes, @noisenerd, @slackertmusic, @atakush, @dooki3 and @techcodex don't exist on Steem. Did you mean to write @vachemorte, @waybeyondpadthai, @winny, @moshitunes, @noisenest, @slacktmusic, @artakush, @doki and @techcoderx ?

If you found this comment useful, consider upvoting it to help keep this bot running. You can see a list of all available commands by replying with !help.

Congratulations @toddjsmith1979! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The new Steemfest³ Award is ready!
Be ready for the next contest!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Blockchain Music from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Hey Todd, soz, I missed this when it came out. The thing I like about blogs is that it's great content to consume from my mobile, whilst out and about, without eating into my data, like videos do. Thanks for sharing your perspective, and thanks for the shoutout. Feeling is mutual 😎
Peace.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64341.19
ETH 3145.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00