You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Let's Talk—How Did you Discover Steemit.com?

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

@firepower, I have been knowing this young dude, Let's call him 'M' since perhaps over a decade, say early 2000 when we used to interact a while in motorcycle related group like XBhp forums. This dude was a highly energetic guy discussing and debating that far belied his age at that time. Then it was all forgotten as I moved on with my mundane life and riding less often.

Well, he was on my Facebook friend's list and occasionally we crossed the path as I read his post on riding or other stuffs as it flashed on my home page. I would give it a cursory glance and click the 'Like' button and forget about it.

Sometime in late May 2017 this year I saw a steemit post by him in Facebook and I just happened to read it just say for passing my time. That was the first time I read a steemit blog on steemit site. I was perplexed to see the 3 digit dollar at the end of his blog and I was like 'WTF?' It can't be true. That's when I took time to read more about steemit on its FAQ page to understand it better.

But then I was never a blogger in my life. though I had a blogging page with a couple of articles with single digit visitors, I always felt i am not cut out for blogging. My English was bad and I lacked imagination and was not net savvy by any measure. Moreover I never had any stories to tell. I believed that blogging required certain special skills, the ability to weave a story and narrate it succinctly and create a magic world to hold the attention and garner appreciation from the readers. I believed blogging is not my cup of tea.

And then I read that you get paid for curating and commenting too. Well that sounded easy.. Well a few nice comments here and there and I could probably see some dollars. And that got me interested.
All the while I never had any basic idea of cryptos. I never understood what steem was and how this worked. So I started prodding 'M' for more information. And he was like, Just register and post.
So I registered and then did nothing. One fine evening after downing a couple of drinks, I posted a completely stupid post which only a drunk can post :) The next day I realized my folly and 'M' said You can't delete it or undo it. this is blockchain. And I decided to forego that account and start clean and fresh. So I created a new account and my first introduction post was on June, 16th 2017.

steemit caught me like no other and I got deep into it. life began revolving around steemit and I was on a roller-coaster ride for next 2 months. till August mid. And then a series of mishaps, and I haven't posted anything since last 4 months and this is my first reply in steemit in last 4 months.

So everything that I know about steemit or my subsequent experience in cryptos I owe it big time to 'M'. Even though we have known each other for over a decade, I am yet to meet him in person. Some day soon.

So, 'M', take a bow, You have indeed made a difference in my life and introduced me to this wonderful world of cryptos, always have been supportive, encouraging, guiding, advising and been there for me always.

Hope that made a nice story of my tryst with Steemit :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.66
ETH 3148.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84