SteemIt Success Tip Of The Day - #1 : Proofread Your DAMN Posts! It's FREE!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

steemit success tip #1-proofreading.jpg

Why It's Vital To Proofread Your SteemIt Posts

I can't stress how important it is to proofread your posts before posting them on SteemIt. If I could count the number of times I have clicked on a post with a good title, read through the first few sentences, and found the spelling and grammar so abysmal that I vowed not to read any more posts by that author, I would have TWICE or THRICE the amount of Steem/SBD than I currently have. But that's okay. While I understand that many people on SteemIt are NOT native English speakers, I can tell you that from my experience as a PROFESSIONAL editor/proofreader, as well as a writer, and an English (ESL) teacher, that EVEN IF you are a non-native speaker of English, there are TONS of free tools available online to give your post AT LEAST the basic cleanse required to make it presentable, and readable, enough so that the ROI ("return on investment") for readers is not outweighed by the cumbersomeness of ploughing through a post chock full of basic spelling and grammar issues.

There's No Excuse - Free Online Proofreading Tools

For those of you who have not been at least passing your posts through your basic word processor's "spell check" function, or running it through one of the free online spellcheck services such as : https://app.grammarly.com/ let me assure you that you ARE losing quality followers, and not getting the return on your writing investment that you should be getting for your efforts. There is no excuse. The tools are freely available for you online. The only thing acting as an obstacle to you getting the maximum results you desire from your posts is YOUR OWN laziness, and lack of attention to detail. I know this sounds harsh, but it is the truth, and you will thank me for this "tough love" into the future - and trust me, I am JUST as guilty as the next guy/gal, and so I am holding myself to the same standard into the future.

So, give those posts a quick proofread folks. Your ideas and writing are worth it...

@transcript-junky

Sort:  

Hi @transcript-junky,
I totally agree. I have a friend who has good contents, but he has no patient to proof-read his posts before posting them. I keep reminding him about it and hope it will eventually penetrate his impatient armor.
Its funny actually that even when I was dating, when someone sends me a and email or a text full of misspellings, I would be completely turned off and mark that person as a "Not suitable".
English is not my first language, but I feel that if a person don't care about how they say or write their words, then I start thinking of them as "careless" and not so much trust-worthy.

I would like to write a post about this (will link it to your post of course). I hope you don't mind :)

Thanks for the tips

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

Ok, I so agree. Thanks for putting this out there. We all want to read quality posts.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69942.87
ETH 3793.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73