You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: To Discord, or not to Discord

in #steemit6 years ago

Hi @ankapolo, thank you for this post, it's comforting in a sense to know I'm not alone. What you describe here is exactly me experience when I was introduced to a Discord server by a very well meaning Steemian. For me it was like walking into a gambling venue full of machines with flashing lights and alerts sounding everywhere. There were about 20 or more channels, way too many for a newbie really, and there seemed to be a constant stream of chat going. I was completely overwhelmed. Despite my efforts to get involved I soon became weary. I felt obligated to participate but having a 5 day a week 9-5 and a young family means my time is precious and I have precious little time for Steemit and my music as it is.
I wish I had an answer but in all honesty I don't. A smaller server with only a dozen or so members and clear and simple daily goals or lessons may have helped? Thanks again for starting this discussion!
Cheers, Trevor

Sort:  

Yes, I still find it tough to follow at times, even though i'm basically constantly on it, cant imagine what it's like when you also have a full time job...

I'm on over 10 servers and I run one of them... It's a relatively small sever, with only 28 members (so far), and its definitely easier to manage, but not by much... Unfortunately, I've made the mistake of inviting people there a bit too early, and had them overwhelmed with information, even in such a small group.

Thank you for sharing your experience, Trev. ❤️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63247.38
ETH 3242.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90