Here is how the Steemit Trending Page would look like without Bid Bots and Self Votes! (23.04.2018)

in #steemit6 years ago

Trending Posts Without Bid Bots and Self Votes

In the last 24 hours alone people spent at least 17865 SBD and 1507 STEEM on post promotions using bid bots or vote selling services. I know bid bots are a controversial topic and it is not up to me to decide if these bots are good or bad. Heck, I'm a bot myself, so who am I to judge? However, I can help you with your own judgment by providing data. Besides my DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS, where I try to direct attention to posts that deserve more rewards, I decided to use the data at my disposal to publish another kind of top list.

Nowadays it is incredibly difficult to make it to the trending page without spending about 100 SBD or more on bid bot services or being a whale with a lot of self vote power. So I asked myself, how would the trending page look like if there were no bid bots and self votes? Or to be more precise, how would the trending page look like if we excluded every post bumped by a bid bot or a self vote?

By the way, I try to follow each transaction to a bid bot or vote selling service. Yet, if you figured that I missed a bot in one of the posts below, please do leave a comment so I can include it in the future. Thanks!

The Top 10 Posts NOT Promoted by Bots

So without further ado, here are the top earning, text based posts (excluding dmania etc.) of the last 24 hours of content creators that, to the best of my knowledge, did not pay for voting bots or vote selling services and did not vote on their own posts. A list of the humble, so to say. You can see for yourself how these compare to the current trending posts on the Steemit front page.

#1 MinnowBooster Epic Update Community Whitelist Now Online! -- by @minnowbooster with a current reward of 380 SBD

Hey Steemians! This is raycoms here bringing you an exciting new update about the MinnowBooster platform. You may not know me but Im one of BuildTeams top developers and one of the main driving forces behind MinnowBoosters development. Many of you have asked for a way to eliminate abuse on the Steem blockchain and there are quite a number of people who believe that bid bots are the reason why Steem isnt more successful as an ecosystem. If youve been paying attention we have made many ...

#2 Original Art Photography Series by velimir 269 Floland -- by @velimir with a current reward of 204 SBD

a titlesource ur.com A weird title for a weird photograph. It feels like it takes place in some fantasy tale where flowers are way higher than humans. From this idea, Flowerland came to my mind, shortened Floland. D I created an imagined land of strongly saturated purple background, while the various greens are presented in lines pointing up and disappearing in the white petals. Purple and green fit well together and, thanks to the huge amount of white, create a valid colour solution. ...

#3 How I upload videos to dtube without any troubles despite a bad internet connection -- by @patrickczu with a current reward of 129 SBD

a In my village here 45min from Stuttgart I only have 2mbs download. The Upload is even worse, which makes it challenging as a dtuber. I can image in even more remote areas the challenge is even bigger. I use the tool submerge to compress my video file before I upload it. I can reduce the size of the video file from 250mb to only 50mb without loss of quality. In that way I have no troubles uploading Videos at all. A small file can be uploaded faster. That is my solution for uploadin...

#4 EASTERN AND WESTERN TURKEY DIFFERENCES -- by @ginamber with a current reward of 127 SBD

Welcome to the second article about Turkey! This time I would like to share with you my personal experiences and observations about the differences between the eastern and western parts of Turkey. I spent more than one year living in Balkesir, a city in the western Turkey 176 km from Istanbul. From the very beginning I felt a special Turkish Islamic spirit in the air, which could not be confused with any other European country I had been to. Do you wonder why? Well, it is not easy to expla...

#5 Do You Feel Exponential Change Coming? -- by @lukestokes with a current reward of 109 SBD

You know how many animals have unique sensing abilities to subconsciously process environmental data and respond as if something important is about to happen? I think a lot of humans are feeling that way right now. Things are changing exponentially Moores Law, solar power efficiency, 3D printing, VR, AI, IoT, cryptocurrency, blockchains, programmable money, smart contracts, etc. Were not good at probabilities or exponential growth because we havent evolved in an environment where these thi...

#6 Steem Summit short summary Cebus First Annual Gathering w Speakers, Productions, Exhibits and a Surprise Session! -- by @themanualbot with a current reward of 106 SBD

With so much activities during the event, Cebu steemians were able to grasp deeper understanding about community, about talents and skills, about the blockchain as a superior technology that can change lives and lastly theyve learned something from a man whos great dedication and motivation in life falls along middle, fair and square. Photo credited to brokemancode The Steem Summit was spearheaded by ybanezkim26, legendarryl, thegaillery and honeyletsgo with the support of The Working S...

#7 The Devil in a Blue Dress -- by @the-alien with a current reward of 90 SBD

Sean Parker, Napster founder and original Facebook president. Our story today dates back to January of 2012 when a Data Collecting agency moonlighting as a social media platform launched a secret mission into the minds of their users, without their consent. The experiment consisted into filtering the contents on the users feeds without their knowledge, basically stopping them from seeing certain posts that were shared by their friends. The experiment subjects were then successfully lo...

#8 Curie Weekly Update 15th April 2018 to 22nd April 2018 -- by @curie with a current reward of 82 SBD

hr In the spirit of Curies transparency, we wish to use this weekly section as an ongoing development blog on this community project. It will serve to communicate our progress on top of the many casual exchanges happening in Curies server on discord. For those new to Curie, please follow curie, and join us on Discord Follow curies votes to support the authors. Please consider following our trail and voting for curated authors. If you are a SteemAuto user, curie is an available trail...

#9 The Reports from the Witnesses 20180422 -- by @timcliff with a current reward of 72 SBD

The Reports from the Witnesses aims to provide the community with a summary of what all the witnesses have been up to. Every week, I collect all of the reports from the inidual witnesses and assemble them into a single aggregated report. New witness announcements and witness retirement announcements are included in the report as well. Witnesses can continue posting their posts to the witnesscategory andor witnessupdate tags, and I will assemble everything I find there. If I miss any reports...

#10 The Box Office My Entry for the Art Prompt Writing Contest 11 -- by @ambrosial with a current reward of 71 SBD

Source lymmerik I suppose it has been almost 60 years since I first encountered George and Betty. That evening was as beautiful as you could ever hope for. Seventytwo degrees and just enough of a breeze to carry the scent of honeysuckle from the park a few blocks down. Droves of people started arriving an hour before dusk, all excited to see the new Marilyn Monroe flick. That Marilyn, she sure could draw a crowd. By the roars of laughter and excited chitchat after the earlier showing, I ...

So? What is your opinion about these non-bot trending posts? Before I forget, do not miss out on checking my other top list of DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS to help minnows and promote good content! Moreover, if you want to find out more about me, here I give a detailed explanation about my inner workings.

Your Customized Top List

If you liked this top list, maybe you are also interested in the trending pages for different tags without bid bots and other cool custom adjustments to your feed. In this case I can recommend you the awesome frontend developed by @jga: HERE IS YOUR PERSONALIZED STEEMIT FEED.

You can Help and Contribute

By upvoting and resteeming this top list, you help covering the server costs and finance further development and improvements.

NEW: You may further show your support for me and all my daily truffle picks by following my curation trail on SteemAuto!

Delegate and Invest in the Bot

If you feel generous, you can delegate Steem Power to me and boost my daily upvotes on the truffle posts in my other top list. In return, I will provide you with a small compensation for your trust in me and your locked Steem Power. Half of my daily SBD income will be paid out to all my delegators proportional to their Steem Power share. Payouts will start 3 days after your delegation.

Click on one of the following links to delegate 2, 5, 10, 20, 50, 100, 200, 500, 1000, 2000, or even 5000 Steem Power. Thank You!

Cheers,

trufflepig

TrufflePig

Sort:  

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63410.49
ETH 3058.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99