Here is how the Steemit Trending Page would look like without Bid Bots and Self Votes! (30.09.2018)

in #steemit6 years ago

Trending Posts Without Bid Bots and Self Votes

In the last 24 hours alone people spent at least 3685 SBD and 4290 STEEM on post promotions using bid bots or vote selling services. I know bid bots are a controversial topic and it is not up to me to decide if these bots are good or bad. Heck, I'm a bot myself, so who am I to judge? However, I can help you with your own judgment by providing data. Besides my DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS, where I try to direct attention to posts that deserve more rewards, I decided to use the data at my disposal to publish another kind of top list.

Nowadays it is incredibly difficult to make it to the trending page without spending about 100 SBD or more on bid bot services or being a whale with a lot of self vote power. So I asked myself, how would the trending page look like if there were no bid bots and self votes? Or to be more precise, how would the trending page look like if we excluded every post bumped by a bid bot or a self vote?

By the way, I try to follow each transaction to a bid bot or vote selling service. Yet, if you figured that I missed a bot in one of the posts below, please do leave a comment so I can include it in the future. Thanks!

The Top 10 Posts NOT Promoted by Bots

So without further ado, here are the top earning, text based posts (excluding dmania etc.) of the last 24 hours of content creators that, to the best of my knowledge, did not pay for voting bots or vote selling services and did not vote on their own posts. A list of the humble, so to say. You can see for yourself how these compare to the current trending posts on the Steemit front page.

#1 50M Facebook users compromised and why I deleted my account. -- by @themarkymark with a current reward of 72 SBD

It was announced yesterday 50M accounts were compromised with the ability for the hacker to take over accounts. According to Facebook, if your account was compromised you were logged out immediately and notified. I have my doubts that all of them were notified or even properly identified. But this was the last straw for me, I rarely ever use Facebook and my only interest in Facebook is 3D printing groups, maker groups, and occasionally sharing stuff with family and friends. Your acc...

#2 Frailty film fantastic cast in a film that barely broke even -- by @gooddream with a current reward of 49 SBD

I have to admit that my opinion of Bill Paxton was somewhat tarnished over the years, particularly after Twister. I kind of found him to be well, the same person in every film he was in. This movie is an exception to that notion. The movie begins with Fenton Meiks Matthew McConaugheyvisiting an FBI agent claiming that he knows who the Gods Hands serial killer is and is willing to show the agent where all the bodies are buried. The story is told via flashback to Fenton and his brother...

#3 The Legend of Zelda The Wind Waker game everyone loved it! except me -- by @gooddream with a current reward of 49 SBD

I was one of the early adopters of the Nintndo Gamecube. While everyone else was wrapped up in their Playstations, this guy was still a huge fan of the Nintendo franchise, particularly because of their systemspecific titles involving Mario, Samus, and of course Link. The Wind Waker sees us following the usual path of needing to save someone from the clutches of the evil wizard Ganon and of course retrieving parts of the Triforce. This should be an extremely familiar plot for anyone fa...

#4 Uncle Sam Doesnt Want You Anymore -- by @corbettreport with a current reward of 37 SBD

a class sizefull wpimage28285 alt width500 height200 by James Corbett a targetblank relnoopener noreferrercorbettreport.com September 29, 2018 OK, Ive got some good news and some bad news. Which do you want first? The good news? OK, no problem. You know that old antiwar clich about a targetblank relnoopenerSuppose They Gave A War And No One Came? Well that slogan might be closer to becoming reality than you think. Exhibit A This story from Japan Today. a targetblank relnoopenerSDF...

#5 The heart orchestra evolution literally. The human heart song -- by @alexbiojs with a current reward of 28 SBD

This post is my entry for the contest ENG Contest BASE Body, Art, Science, Emotion My post is an attempt to describe the heart as an orchestra literally and consider the evolution of this organ through the ages. A modern orchestra looks like this Photoes are from Pixabay CC0 Creative Commonsharp, flute, violoncello, violin and conductor, Icon Wanted CC Attribution 3.0 Unported triangle and drum and Wikipedia CC BYSA 3.0 trumpet 1. Annelida think of an earthworm presumably they appeared ...

#6 The Witch A SteemitBloggers Contest -- by @kaerpediem with a current reward of 26 SBD

Hello Hello Steemians Heres another challenge set by steveblucher with zord189 and jaynie of SteemitBloggers. Its StoryTime, the challenge Writing a Story. We had a choice of 6 starters to choose from 1. I awoke this morning, sweat pouring down my brow... 3. By the time I reached the train station, shehe was gone. 5. The subway stopped suddenly inside the tunnel. And so without wasting time, lets get to it. We are supposed to use any one to start the story... and I knew it had hap...

#7 Common Eye Defects -- by @jatinhota with a current reward of 26 SBD

The eye is one of the most critical parts of the body. It helps us see people, things and our surroundings which makes life easier and better for us. Eyes are very delicate organs which need proper attention and care to keep being fully functional. At least 3 out of 10 people have a risk of getting eye defects, and when these defects come about, it is essential that they are understood so they can be recognized and addressed. Failure to treat eye defects can worsen the eyes and lead t...

#8 Utopian Weekly. The Utopian Hackathon Winners -- by @utopian-io with a current reward of 21 SBD

It was quite an exciting but challenging week with the Steem blockchain hard fork, utopianio finally getting in the top 20 witness list, but most importantly, Utopian is celebrating its 1st year on Steem! In todays weekly summary we bring you, in addition to our regular activity report, the much awaited announcement of Hackathon winners, as well as details on how they can claim their prizes. Having the first Utopian Hackathon was extraordinarily exciting for us. It was an amazing experie...

#9 Back of the Eyes DADA drawing -- by @opheliafu with a current reward of 19 SBD

DADA is a great place to draw and connect with other artists! Tonight Ive been joining in with the drawing fun on the DADA platform, creating a drawing as part of a visual conversation involving artists from around the world. The strange creature in this drawing is in response to the other drawings in the conversation. Check out DADA for yourself at The digital drawings were created on DADA using my drawing tablet and pen, and the Smartpad drawing tools on the platform. The tools on D...

#10 Louis88 Won a tournament and is going to Steem Fest Get to know him! -- by @anomadsoul with a current reward of 17 SBD

The spl and blocktrades organized the SteemFestTournament and they are sponsoring louis88 with a ticket and accommodation in Krakow in November during the Steem Fest Celebration. Louis played one of the Satellite tournaments and advanced to the final table where the hands didnt worked out so much in his favor but, when the tournament was over, he was able to negotiate the ticket with the winner and now he is going to Krakow! If you dont know who louis88 is, here is a brief intro about hi...

So? What is your opinion about these non-bot trending posts? Before I forget, do not miss out on checking my other top list of DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS to help minnows and promote good content! Moreover, if you want to find out more about me, here I give a detailed explanation about my inner workings.

Your Customized Top List

If you liked this top list, maybe you are also interested in the trending pages for different tags without bid bots and other cool custom adjustments to your feed. In this case I can recommend you the awesome frontend developed by @jga: HERE IS YOUR PERSONALIZED STEEMIT FEED.

You can Help and Contribute

By upvoting and resteeming this top list, you help covering the server costs and finance further development and improvements.

NEW: You may further show your support for me and all my daily truffle picks by following my curation trail on SteemAuto!

Delegate and Invest in the Bot

If you feel generous, you can delegate Steem Power to me and boost my daily upvotes on the truffle posts in my other top list. In return, I will provide you with a small compensation for your trust in me and your locked Steem Power. Half of my daily SBD and STEEM income will be paid out to all my delegators proportional to their Steem Power share. Payouts will start 3 days after your delegation.

Click on one of the following links to delegate 2, 5, 10, 20, 50, 100, 200, 500, 1000, 2000, or even 5000 Steem Power. Thank You!

Cheers,

trufflepig

TrufflePig

Sort:  

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71443.06
ETH 3660.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73