Here is how the Steemit Trending Page would look like without Bid Bots and Self Votes! (06.10.2018)

in #steemit6 years ago

Trending Posts Without Bid Bots and Self Votes

In the last 24 hours alone people spent at least 4056 SBD and 16627 STEEM on post promotions using bid bots or vote selling services. I know bid bots are a controversial topic and it is not up to me to decide if these bots are good or bad. Heck, I'm a bot myself, so who am I to judge? However, I can help you with your own judgment by providing data. Besides my DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS, where I try to direct attention to posts that deserve more rewards, I decided to use the data at my disposal to publish another kind of top list.

Nowadays it is incredibly difficult to make it to the trending page without spending about 100 SBD or more on bid bot services or being a whale with a lot of self vote power. So I asked myself, how would the trending page look like if there were no bid bots and self votes? Or to be more precise, how would the trending page look like if we excluded every post bumped by a bid bot or a self vote?

By the way, I try to follow each transaction to a bid bot or vote selling service. Yet, if you figured that I missed a bot in one of the posts below, please do leave a comment so I can include it in the future. Thanks!

The Top 10 Posts NOT Promoted by Bots

So without further ado, here are the top earning, text based posts (excluding dmania etc.) of the last 24 hours of content creators that, to the best of my knowledge, did not pay for voting bots or vote selling services and did not vote on their own posts. A list of the humble, so to say. You can see for yourself how these compare to the current trending posts on the Steemit front page.

#1 SteemSTEM Weekly Update Week 40 -- by @steemstem with a current reward of 176 SBD

br It was a very busy week, following the return of an interestingexcitinglongawaited meetup in Italy and the news is aplenty! In an effort to bring the community closer together and with our goal to keep you updated, we are commencing a weekly news blog for everything that was announced or launched the previous days, so lets not waste any more time! Yes, this happened more than 2 weeks ago, but it is worth a special mention! For those who might not know, SteemSTEM and Utopi...

#2 Sovereign Sky Excerpt 7 A New Hope -- by @stan with a current reward of 164 SBD

There is no worse tyranny than to force a man to pay for what he does not want merely because you think it would be good for him. Robert A. Heinlein, The Moon is a Harsh Mistress, 1966 A managed democracy is a wonderful thing... for the managers... and its greatest strength is a free press when free is defined as responsible and the managers define what is irresponsible. Robert A. Heinlein, The Moon is a Harsh Mistress, 1966 Two paths erged in the woods, and I I took the fork les...

#3 Creative Date Idea 37 Board Game Night Say No to Netflix and Chill -- by @mrchef111 with a current reward of 79 SBD

a Hello DTube and Steemians! Its Friday, that means date night! Next up is Creative Date 37 Board Game Night, from my book entitled 101 Creative Dates ideas, tips, and personal experiences from the life of a hopeless romantic. I love creative dates. It is fun to come up with a new idea or put a twist on a classic idea and take a girl out and have fun. I had all kinds of ideas and personal experiences with dating, so I made a book about it and recently published in on Amazon. I decided ...

#4 Maple Glazed Salmon -- by @pinkspectre with a current reward of 77 SBD

I dont often eat fish, but when I get the chance to cook salmon, I always get excited at the prospect of pairing the fish with new flavors. This time I thought I would add a little bit of sweet to the savory of the salmon, so I concocted this maple based glaze. Of course this fish can be prepared myriad ways on the stove, in the oven, on the grill. I prefer to pan fry my fish so I can keep a close eye on its cooking to ensure it is not over cooked and dry. Ingredients 1 pound fresh salmon...

#5 The Mummy 2017 film universally panned, but not by me -- by @gooddream with a current reward of 73 SBD

I am normally very critical of Tom Cruise films but can understand why they dont change the formula. I mean, if you had an opportunity to release essentially the same script over and over again, and it routinely made you a 200 return on investment you would probably do the same thing. That being said, this movie was ripped to shreds by critics and normal attendees as well. I, once again, disagree. !TheMummy2017.jpg finally found one in Thai I dont think it is terribly necessary to tel...

#6 2018 ABQ Balloon Fiesta Guide, Part 2 -- by @pinkspectre with a current reward of 72 SBD

Check out Part 1 here. By 10 AM most of the balloons will have launched, and you will have most of the day to wander around the Fiesta Park or explore Albuquerque a bit before the main evening events. There are plenty of merch tents to check out as well as tons of food options in the Park, as well as a museum featuring many cool historical craft and exhibits covering the history and science of ballooning. You can also check out the Balloon Discovery Center, where interactive exhibits are ...

#7 2018 ABQ Balloon Fiesta Guide -- by @pinkspectre with a current reward of 72 SBD

The Albuquerque International Balloon Fiesta is the largest ballooning event in the world, and with 700 balloons participating, the Fiesta Park is huge covering over 80 acres. Traffic around the park is crazy the week of the Fiesta, and with so many different events happening all week long, it can be a bit confusing planning what to see and when to get there, so here is a quick guide to the highlights of this years festival on October 614. The Dawn Patrol and Morning Glow events start at...

#8 UPB Tree Pots is the official name of the Tree nursery pots upcycled from plastic bottles by Earth Rangers during the SASHProgram -- by @thegreens with a current reward of 53 SBD

After careful deliberations with Earth Rangers and volunteers of The Greens, we have finally agreed that we shall call the nursery pots we upcycle from plastic bottles UPB Tree Pots which means Upcycled Plastic Bottles Tree Nursery Pots. UPB Tree Pots is an Earth Rangers discovery which was discovered during the Steemit Action Summer Holiday Program also known as the Earth Rangers Summer Holiday Program. You can learn more about the socioeconomic and environmental importance of UPB Tree Po...

#9 Regimenting the Path to Becoming a Morning Person -- by @hansikhouse with a current reward of 50 SBD

Source Im usually one to enjoy personal challenges and achieving goals that I set for myself, even if I end up reverting back to my old ways or give up the pursued hobby once I reach a level of achievement. Hashtag humblebragz. But seriously, I become quite selfloathing if I cant move towards things I want to achieve. And to this day, there has been only one personal goal that Ive failed miserably at Ive always dreamt about getting up before the sunrise each day and slamming in a good...

#10 Watercolors, antiques, family history, and moose droppings. picture heavy -- by @twirble with a current reward of 47 SBD

I went with my father to the Mill River Park last Saturday in Thomaston, Maine. There we composed watercolors of the bridge and had a nice chat. I love the early edge of fall in New England when the colors are just coming out agains the bright green of late summer. My father said he found it relaxing. He did not want to share his watercolor; but here is how mine turned out. forgive me I am not a watercolorist; although I aim to be one day We then went home, had lunch and he w...

So? What is your opinion about these non-bot trending posts? Before I forget, do not miss out on checking my other top list of DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS to help minnows and promote good content! Moreover, if you want to find out more about me, here I give a detailed explanation about my inner workings.

Your Customized Top List

If you liked this top list, maybe you are also interested in the trending pages for different tags without bid bots and other cool custom adjustments to your feed. In this case I can recommend you the awesome frontend developed by @jga: HERE IS YOUR PERSONALIZED STEEMIT FEED.

You can Help and Contribute

By upvoting and resteeming this top list, you help covering the server costs and finance further development and improvements.

NEW: You may further show your support for me and all my daily truffle picks by following my curation trail on SteemAuto!

Delegate and Invest in the Bot

If you feel generous, you can delegate Steem Power to me and boost my daily upvotes on the truffle posts in my other top list. In return, I will provide you with a small compensation for your trust in me and your locked Steem Power. Half of my daily SBD and STEEM income will be paid out to all my delegators proportional to their Steem Power share. Payouts will start 3 days after your delegation.

Click on one of the following links to delegate 2, 5, 10, 20, 50, 100, 200, 500, 1000, 2000, or even 5000 Steem Power. Thank You!

Cheers,

trufflepig

TrufflePig

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64513.75
ETH 3146.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95