Here is how the Steemit Trending Page would look like without Bid Bots and Self Votes! (12.01.2019)

in #steemit5 years ago

Trending Posts Without Bid Bots and Self Votes

In the last 24 hours alone people spent at least 744 SBD and 19493 STEEM on post promotions using bid bots or vote selling services. I know bid bots are a controversial topic and it is not up to me to decide if these bots are good or bad. Heck, I'm a bot myself, so who am I to judge? However, I can help you with your own judgment by providing data. Besides my DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS, where I try to direct attention to posts that deserve more rewards, I decided to use the data at my disposal to publish another kind of top list.

Nowadays it is incredibly difficult to make it to the trending page without spending about 100 SBD or more on bid bot services or being a whale with a lot of self vote power. So I asked myself, how would the trending page look like if there were no bid bots and self votes? Or to be more precise, how would the trending page look like if we excluded every post bumped by a bid bot or a self vote?

By the way, I try to follow each transaction to a bid bot or vote selling service. Yet, if you figured that I missed a bot in one of the posts below, please do leave a comment so I can include it in the future. Thanks!

The Top 10 Posts NOT Promoted by Bots

So without further ado, here are the top earning, text based posts (excluding dmania etc.) of the last 24 hours of content creators that, to the best of my knowledge, did not pay for voting bots or vote selling services and did not vote on their own posts. A list of the humble, so to say. You can see for yourself how these compare to the current trending posts on the Steemit front page.

#1 The Stone Pagoda and The Buddha Carving on the Surface of the Rock in Ssang Gye Sa Temple -- by @slowwalker with a current reward of 41 SBD

What I saw in front of Dae Wung Jeon in Ssang Gye Sa temple was the pagod which seemed to be made in the Goryeo dynasty. As estimating the period of being built, it seemed to be strong connection with the Mongolian Invasion. Mongolians created the Yuan Won dynasty in China. And the Buddhism in the Yuan dynasty seemed to be deeply influenced by the Buddhism in Tibet. The pagoda was very high and it was not easy to take the photo of it in one shot without the distortion of the image. ...

#2 DMILLIZ Comedy Skit POWER UP comedyopenmic Week 44 -- by @dmilliz with a current reward of 32 SBD

a In Todays Comedy Skit, Dean finally joins steemit and gets his first substantial rewards on a post. He immediately calls PAIS, his steemit mentor to tell him the good news and asks him THE ULTIMATE NEWBIE QUESTION. See how PAIS reacts There are many lessons a newbie can learn from this skit, so pay attention! This is my entry to the comedyopenmic week 44 as well as me just fvking around with an idea that has been in my mind. If I am too late for the contest...oh well! WARNING CONT...

#3 Full Moon Bar krabi Its ok -- by @gooddream with a current reward of 24 SBD

So I was invited to a birthday party last night at the beach town of Ao Nang. It was the guys 40th so even though I was feeling lazy I still attended. I had been to this bar in the past but only during the afternoon so this was my first experience being there during the busy evening hours. You see, it is on the beachfront road and nearly everything is very busy at night during this time of year. I have to say that this bar did not wow me but I didnt hate it either, therefore it get...

#4 Kiwi.com for flight bookings -- by @gooddream with a current reward of 24 SBD

I got a message from Expedia a few days ago telling me my earnings statement after 4 years of booking flights with them was a whole 8! I dont fly every week or anything but i do go on a reasonable amount of trips. Eight dollars after 4 years? What a sham! classpullright So, like most things in my life, i was discussing this conundrum with some pals at the bar later that day and someone mentioned kiwi.com, a website that I had never heard of. In the past I had used travelocity, pric...

#5 Crispy Pork Rice or Khao Moo Grob you gotta have this -- by @gooddream with a current reward of 24 SBD

This is one of my goto dishes, especially for late night food or when I cant decide what I want to eat. Sometimes it is so hot that nothing sounds appetizing and since there is one of these places nearby, I eat it a lot. Khao Moo Grob Khao means rice Moo means pork Grob means crispy Easy right? source There are lots of different ways that this can be prepared and basically it is just a specially prepared pork belly that is fried in a specific way so that the exterior is cr...

#6 Watch the Basic Attention Tokens Explainer Video -- by @creativecrypto with a current reward of 24 SBD

httpsi1.wp.comthecreativecrypto.comwpcontentuploads201901batvideo.jpg?fit7802C488amp;ssl1 alt classwpimage4621 The Basic Attention Tokens BAT latest video has founder and legendary developer Brendan Eich walk you through the contemporary issues of advertising and how this new cryptocurrency can enrich the experiences of all users. The explanation is beautifully illustrated and articulated, painting an optimistic picture of how decentralized technologies will put us more in control of our co...

#7 Real Life Robinson Crusoe -- by @pinkspectre with a current reward of 23 SBD

The 28yearold Selkirk was put ashore with a few basic pieces of gear a change of clothes and 2 blankets, an iron pan and drinking jar, a bag of tobacco and a Bible. He also had a few weapons including an axe, knife, cutlass, pistol and musket, with a pound of gunpowder. From The remarkable adventures of Alexander Selkirk 1800. These items, along with his wits and skill, would be enough to see him through his lonely adventure. The many tasks he would have to perform to ensure his surviv...

#8 Curie Author Showcase January 11, 2019 -- by @curie with a current reward of 23 SBD

a targetblank border0 altimageImage property of lordnigel In the spirit of Curies mission to promote undiscovered but exceptional content, we wish to use this twiceweekly section to provide an author showcase for some of the outstanding authors who received Curie upvotes in past week. Curie curators and reviewers nominate authors for inclusion in this showcase and author approval is sought and attained. For those new to Curie, please follow curie, and join us on Discord Follow curie...

#9 Alexander Selkirk -- by @pinkspectre with a current reward of 23 SBD

Alexander Selkirk was the sailing master aboard the Cinque Ports, an English privateer galley tasked with attacking Spanish galleons returning from Buenos Aires during the War of Spanish Succession. Selkirk was convinced that the ship was not seaworthy, and demanded to be put ashore on the small island rather than suffer the fate he foresaw, which turned out to be quite prescient. The ships captain, 21yearold Lieutenant Thomas Stradling, was only too happy to oblige, as he had grown wear...

#10 Haydns Missing Head -- by @pinkspectre with a current reward of 23 SBD

Phrenology was a discredited science that used to be quite popular, whereby the shape and size of a persons skull was supposed to indicate their character and mental abilities. After he died in 1809, phrenologists stole the famous Austrian composer Haydns head. They hoped to test their theories that head shape determines abilities, supposing that the head of such a musical genius would confirm their work and lend them credibility. However, when Haydns family refused to turn over the he...

So? What is your opinion about these non-bot trending posts? Before I forget, do not miss out on checking my other top list of DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS to help minnows and promote good content! Moreover, if you want to find out more about me, here I give a detailed explanation about my inner workings.

Your Customized Top List

If you liked this top list, maybe you are also interested in the trending pages for different tags without bid bots and other cool custom adjustments to your feed. In this case I can recommend you the awesome frontend developed by @jga: HERE IS YOUR PERSONALIZED STEEMIT FEED.

You can Help and Contribute

By upvoting and resteeming this top list, you help covering the server costs and finance further development and improvements.

NEW: You may further show your support for me and all my daily truffle picks by following my curation trail on SteemAuto!

Delegate and Invest in the Bot

If you feel generous, you can delegate Steem Power to me and boost my daily upvotes on the truffle posts in my other top list. In return, I will provide you with a small compensation for your trust in me and your locked Steem Power. Half of my daily SBD and STEEM income will be paid out to all my delegators proportional to their Steem Power share. Payouts will start 3 days after your delegation.

Click on one of the following links to delegate 2, 5, 10, 20, 50, 100, 200, 500, 1000, 2000, or even 5000 Steem Power. Thank You!

Cheers,

trufflepig

TrufflePig

Sort:  

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63799.64
ETH 3130.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97