You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: "Achilles or Hector?" ... Plus a 2,000 SP Delegation to the Power House Creatives

in #steemit5 years ago

I have to agree with @plantsoplanks Verklempt is very apropos. This has been a crazy ride and just when you think thing have calmed down. Here comes Quill with word and prose to tie it all together. Well done Quill.

Sort:  

It just seemed like the right word to me, so I'm glad you agree! It truly amazes me how articulate others can be with multiple words when I am just happy to find one. :)

@tryskele,

Thanks Try.

Alas ... "Verklempt" does not rhyme with much ... but if I know that bugger, @d-pend, he'll figure out a way to use it in a poem just to make me look incompetent. B.S.'ing aside, Dan has a mastery of vocabulary that leaves EVERYONE speechless. Myself included. Indeed, he even knows Sumerian Cuneiform ... which he often employs. :-)

I am ferociously proud of the writers in this group.

Often, I spend long stretches STUDYING the way they write, trying to figure out effect. If something was funny, what ... precisely ... made it funny? If something was poignant, why? Metaphors, allusions, the turn of a phrase.

(And yes ... it is for the express purpose of stealing the technique.)

In Great Writing, these elements are often subtle, and hence, difficult to isolate. But PHC authors provide ample opportunity to practice.

Steel sharpens steel.

Quill

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62789.36
ETH 3158.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82