Hey @anyx, I want to propose @cheetah Bot Version 2 to Improve Steem

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

UPDATED

See This post on the Plan!

To @anyx, @steemcleaners, and others interested in avoiding spam, poor quality posts, and teaching new users how to post on STEEM:

Next generation Cheetah Bot concept (and more)


I happen to be new to the Steem platform, but I have already encountered poor quality posts. I have learned a bit about how “policing” the Steem ecosystem has been done through the steemcleaners account. I recently found a post, discovered it was just a cut-and-paste (thanks @cheetah) and I flagged it with my super-low steem-powered minnow account. My comments were flagged when I explained in detail why pasting in other people’s content, without their consent, is not good for STEEM.

Some people still don’t get why cut-and-paste (and other forms of copying) are discouraging on Steem. I persevered and finally received some agreement that Steem authors shouldn't just copy and paste commercial content and simply link back to it. I believe I won that little argument.

Well, I don’t know if that ordeal gave me the idea, but however my brain did it, I’ve got an explosive idea.

I have an idea for Cheetah bot 2.0, and in fact a system that goes a bit beyond where @steemcleaners are right now. Way, way beyond, in fact. It will be a huge leap in usability for content creators… while being a proactive deterrent against poor-quality Steem posts.


Source: (Cheetah image by @dmitlex, used under fair use)

I have finished writing a proposal for this idea. I am ready to click “Submit a Story” and publish it. However, the problem with Steem right now is that ideas on Steem have a very short timespan. Somewhere between 2 and 20 hours from posting it, the post will possibly fade. I wanted to maximize my chances by contacting some fellow Steemians directly.

So since coming up with the idea, I have contacted some influential members of the Steem community in private to see what they think. I have gotten positive feedback so far!

I’d like to release the idea to @anyx and as many other witnesses as possible. The idea will need some brainpower (developers), community support (from you), and the support of some of the pioneers (like @anyx) who have brought the platform to where it is.

In the next 24 hours or perhaps sooner, I will release my project idea to the community, and I am predicting that the idea will be well received.

  • Let’s fight spam and the reuse of content without permission!
  • Let’s make Steem a better place!
  • This proposal will positively change the way Steemit deals with low-quality content!
  • It will be able to both dissuade low-quality content and improve cooperation among Steem users!
  • Give @uruiamme follow so that you can see my proposal as soon as it comes out!

[Updated]

See This post on the Plan!

Sort:  

damn, and I was just tryin to raise awareness and hopefully money for some members with my post...i guess next time i'll beg in the comments next time?

I beg your pardon. What?

just observing, learning the ropes about what's acceptable and what's not and the type of topics people respond to asking for upvotes.

i've layed out a good cause in my post, yet it disappears. you're worried about a little copy pasta and it gets traction. it's an interesting thought process is all.

The "upvote my post" type of responses... are not generally encouraged. I am not too concerned either way, or at least not yet. Some people people call that "spam" because it is somehow unsolicited. However, a publisher of content should expect off-track comments and use them/ignore them/deal with them. I don't complain about them.

I am more focused on the posting itself, whereas the comments are going to be a bit more "social" and full of more shared meme-style comments.

Sure, a person can make a few cents posting a funny meme comment (and that was not their own), but this seems to be small potatoes.

Please take this as an encouragement! Keep commenting and watching what goes on here. It takes a good sized learning curve to be at the top of the food chain.

you whined about your post and begged for upvotes and youre giving me advice now? this is rich

I am really not following you. If you and I met at a chatroom or wherever, I do not remember. Can you explain it over there?

never communicated before. my comment was pretty clear. the community supported your post that begged for votes with nothing to back it up and you care, then you don't.

it's a democracy, you win. i'd rather not argue about this anymore. helli even gave you and upvote like an hour ago

Your comment was clear but not backed up by facts. If you accuse someone, maybe next time actually show what that person did. Even Trump knows that ;)

If there is a problem, tell it. If not then stop with the passive aggressive 'oh noes, somebody else here get some votes, they are MINE!!!11' and look at your own garden, mr 'upvote, comment, follow and resteem'…

im looking forward to seeing what this idea is and chipping in anyway that i can man.

Thanks. I am doing a lot of things in chatrooms and back channels. I promise the idea is going to knock your socks off.

The concept is sound. The implementation and the organization... will be a bit daunting. I want it done right from the beginning concept, from alpha, beta, and on to a full production system.

From what I saw in a preview this looks really promising and I sponsored 100 whaleshares to promote the main post once it hits. This will hopefully improve the situation and encourage original content.

Thank you @reggaemuffin, I appreciate this support! I am trying to use your ideas to make some improvements before it's released.

I agree posts shouldn't be a straight copy paste job from another source without acknowledging/referencing the original creator. It's a learning curve we all go through from joining. However if your proposal interferes with upvotes, visibility/resteems etc it could be considered censorship, isn't Steemit supposed to be censorship free (kind of). Waiting to see your proposal before judgement though, that's only fair.

Good points! Your feedback will be appreciated on the actual proposal, because it is not censorship of any kind. In fact, it should actually promote an ability to use more Steem-related content that can be legitimately shared.

What I hate is to steal other people's content. But I am afraid that the way Steemians make great posts, they sometimes "borrow" more than they should. I am not here to crack down on people, but to promote Steem users of all stripes. Sorry if i am purposely vague, but discretion is the better part of valor.

I promise that it will promote Steem ideals, especially fairness. It will also get Steem into better legal territory.

I hope that encourages you!

Sounds exciting! If its's good for Steemit in the long term then it's good for all of us.

Good point, it is important to keep the quality up and not just copy-and-paste someoneelse's work!

But the "good" Steemians do it, too. Are you ready to be surprised? The proposal is not just to kill off the obvious spammers, but to help you and me be better Steemians.

Yes that is true, but doing it the right way and naming the source.

Naming the source? Is that a good practice? Does it give liberty to grab it and go with it?

From A publicly available website... probably take you tube for example. It's publicly available to us, if we provide a link back to the exact place the video came from is this still a problem. The actual video is still being viewed from YouTube just as an embedded item link. A reference to the link should be posted also in text. Is this not sufficient?

In some cases, definitely yes. In other cases, definitely not.

With the YoutTbe video that you gave as an example, this is correct. Because you are not modifying this video, you are welcome to provide that source link (it's built into the embedded code and video player) and now you blog about the video. Your blog is permitted to fairly use this content the way you described.

This is not the case for every bit of borrowed content. In fact, there are situations on the flip-side of the coin in which things are borrowed without permission and sourcing it is not simple or not sufficiently fair.

Where I grew up, if you claim to borrow a person's property and enjoy its benefits without their permission, you are generally trespassing, stealing, or guilty of a some other legally prohibited action. My parents would make me make restitution for this "borrowing" to teach me a lesson and make me apologize.

You can fill in the blanks there. I will say more tomorrow. If you contact me privately, I can show you what I've got planned. Thanks!

Where I grew up, if you claim to borrow a person's property and enjoy its benefits without their permission, you are generally trespassing, stealing, or guilty of a some other legally prohibited action.

You do realize that there are people from all over the World on Steemit, right? And that not everyone follows the exact same code of ethics, right?

Is there a code of ethics which says that borrowing without permission is ok? Or is that too philosophic?

Should I post this in psychology? Or sociology? I am unaware of any such formal codes. I guess we could check the UN... maybe they have studied it.

Without a viable alternative to the trespassing/stealing metaphor, I say that your point is moot.

Such a code of ethics may exist, but that particular minority view is going to be drowned out in a global community like Steem. The most recent weekly post by the steemcleaners will show you ample evidence that my line of thinking is mainstream enough for the purposes of Steem content creation. They list dozens of cases of bad content, some of which they hide by downvoting.

Congratulations @uruiamme! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Yes posts should always be original or if it's from something you created elsewhere. But I agree with this. Good you are on this.

The concept of "your own content" is very important. You own what you create. That's been enshrined in copyright law for decades. That poses a problem for Steem if it is full of "borrowed" content, does it not?

I have a solution for this, and it honestly has taken a lot of effort to propose it in a way that makes sense on a lot of levels: financial, legal, and fairness. I would like you to contemplate this and see if my proposal meets these obligations. I am working on some tweaks right now.

People are doing this on Steem right now, and their posts are valued in the hundreds, even thousands of dollars. I am not a complainer, but eventually, the "fairness" of this is going to be grasped by some people, and Steem is going to get a bad reputation. I want to show that this can be done fairly.

Tomorrow for the big reveal!

Frank Helping @uruiamme

You have been PROMOTED FREE for using the "spam" TAG (hashtag)

https://steemit.com/promoted/spam

Excellent Work. And wonderful concept.

Thank you for this post.

Followed and upvoted

Come back tomorrow for more!

One such cut and paste right here... You can see his attitude, and he's making $300 - $500 a post now from other people's content, not sharing the payout and clearly does not give a fuck. It's not legal in-spite of what he says and certainly not ethical and is a liability to Steemit. This is why youtube polices their videos so heavily.

https://steemit.com/dailyphotoselection/@photo-trail/daily-photo-selection-june-11th-2017

YouTube's police ends up being the content producers or owners... The Movie Studios, the Record Labels, and the corporate entities who protect their stockholders' interests.

Steem could have one of these knock on our door someday. Will it be a Steemit, Inc. headquarters? Will it be on the noob's door? I don't know. Flaunt your wantonness around long enough, and you will get a little bill... except it won't be a Benjamin in your stocking... it will be a cease and desist.

But that's just an appeal to a parade of horribles.

The right thing to do is to clean up our act as much as possible... before Steem explodes and we get an influx of scamming noobs that scam. Or stealing baddies that steal. Or the trolling trolls that cut-and-paste.

I have two followups to this post:
See

Announcing Steem Stock Photos, Videos, and Music - the Plan (+ Bonus SBD) and

A dirty big secret of Blogging on Steem (and my solution to come clean)

Yep Steemit need to remove offenders and people need to ask for permission.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69107.15
ETH 3882.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65