I Unfollowed 10,000+ Steemians Today ! Say No To Blind/Mass Follow

in #steemit7 years ago

steemit-share.png

Yeah I was a mass followers I followed a whole lot of people, and most of them blindly.

What is mass or blind following some of you might ask, well these are two similar yet kind of different things.

A Blind follow is when you follow a person just because everyone else is doing it, When you click the follow button just because you saw the huge number of followers that person has, irrespective that you like their content or not.

Mass following is also a kind of blind follow, A mass follower is a person who follows everyone who come along their way, irrespective of their stats.

so yeah I used to do all those things, I started by following all the whales then once I was done following 100's of them I started following everyone on the trending or hot pages. after that i followed everyone in the introduce yourself page and the new content page.

In sort I had a list load of People that I followed 10626 to be precise.

30-7-17.png

Capture.PNG

I guess I took "I follow you, you follow me" to a whole new level.

I follow you, you follow me
- A Desperate Steemer

I thought it was the easiest way to gain a lot of followers, and It surely did, but guess what I did not gain?

A value to my content and surely not a Dedicated readership.

Having a lot of followers is not same as having good followers.

Even Now Even If I have over 2k followers only few of those actually read my content.

Can you guess why following so many people sucks?

The thing that sucked the most was that my home screen rapidly changed like a stock exchange board with around 100 posts flashing per minute.

I have made quite a few good friends Sweet friends, friends who I care about and who care for me and I care for their creativity because they are a creativity maestro in their genre.

I would like to read these people as soon as they post but due to all these people that I was following it became nearly impossible.

I follow many but I bookmarked a few so that I can go to their profile every now and then and read and appreciate their content.

Now I follow no one ... It seems calm now ... But soon I will start to follow again but this time I will only follow those I really like. Whose content syncs with my mind or who are nice people.

I will start by going thru every profile on my follower list and if they are posting original content I will follow them back.

I will now make friends and not just be their follower.

I will follow those who are working hard to make Steemit a better place.

I will follow those who commented meaning full stuff on my content or someone I know.

I will only follow those who care to read my content or love to have nice small talks.

I will be doing a whole lot of following again but I will never do mass or a blind follow If I would like content of 1000 people I will follow them all but only because I want to read what they write I want to hear what they want to say.

At last I promise each one of my follower that I will visit their blog soon, see you there.

Thank You For Reading



Comment, Upvote, Follow, ReSteem
@Utfull

Sort:  

Genuine ....
I have followed 100 people & i feel missing the good posts from good friend's as they get buried between the crowd......if i leave for few days .
Right move.

yes, it is always better to start small and build real connections than to blindly follow people.thanks for such a great read

cool attempt there! Great lesson for me. Thanks!

@utfull got you a $1.98 @minnowbooster upgoat, nice!
@utfull got you a $1.98 @minnowbooster upgoat, nice! (Image: pixabay.com)


Want a boost? Click here to read more!

Ill start unfollowing now. Thanks for this.

Good for you!

I also did that before. Unlike now I check first their stat before following anyone else

Good job! I'm proud of you. Just keep on writing and you'll see that people will just follow you. :)

I got this a lot in the beginning when people said follow for follow, but I just ignored them because I want honest followers who genuinely care about my posts and read it and feel a sense of fun/joy rushing through them.

Now after a good month being on Steemit, I have to say; because I have ignored it, I don't get it that often anymore. Sometimes those robot responders that say "nice post upvoted" but this I ignore.

but well said utfull i'm with ya ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 67184.38
ETH 3107.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67