Statistics show that only 10 Steemians will click on this post so I'm counting on 10 comments which will hopefully unravel the mystery of getting a decent amount of views!

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Yep. I'm trying to deal with the same problem that most of us have on this platform. All of us red fish, all of us minnows (I'm not even a minnow officially!)... I believe all of us have this problem.

I think I write at least 'decent' posts. I see a lot of crap going around, not my work though. I never deliver copy/paste work. Some work is better than other work I deliver, some is short, some can be long, some is intented to be mainly funny, some portray my own opinion on a matter, some portray my own vision on a matter. But it's never crap. And I wish to not receive the 'crap treatment'.

Every time when I click on the POST button I just hope one thing:

I hope that this post will get more than 10 views!

Because on average I think that's what my posts get. On average only 10 people decide to click on my posts. This doesn't even tell me that my post has been read but at least it was clicked on. I could spend an hour thinking of a new post for my "I interviewed" series only to see a few hours later that it only got 9 views, for example. (Real statistic when I wrote this)

These numbers do not motivate at all.

Let's be clear about something. I'm not talking about upvotes. I'm not talking about money. I'm talking about VIEWS.

It would be super nice to see my posts get much much more views than what they are getting now.

IMG_8464.PNG

Currently my rep is 52. I have almost 300 followers (hooray for that!). More than 95% are active Steemians. But still... only 10 Steemians click on my posts on average. Why are we following each other? If I follow you, you can be sure that I did it because I decided that I want your content in my feed. I can't read all posts in my feed and not everything is interesting, but every now and then I try make sure to read what you have to say. My average post view count makes me wonder why you're following me though... a lot of Steemians following me hardly or never interact...

Demotivating numbers and actions but of course I'll keep posting.

Because when i do get views, I get comments. And comments make Steemit so much more worth it than sharing what I create on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn. If I put in the work, I'll get noticed and my stats will show growth. They have been growing steadily ever since I joined a little over a month ago and I'm extremely happy with that. But I have to keep coming back to my average post view count of 10.

I would like to know the secret of getting a decent amount of views!

So if anyone is willing to share this secret be my guest! Yes, I'm specifically talking to you 10 Steemians. 🤓


Like this post? Feel free to upvote, comment and resteem. And, as always... keep up the good work and may the Steem be with you!

Want to buy cryptocurrency? I have bought most of what I hold at Litebit.eu and have very good experiences with each and every order.

Sort:  

Slow and steady wins the race. Just keep on doing what you're doing, the numbers will follow. The price is Steem seems to be rising...that may help get people more active.

Thank you for dropping by mate! One of my steady followers and supporters. Yes you're right. I'll keep at it :)

I agree with you and i think it comes down to the way the feed is presented. I also love to create my own original content and find it so annoying to have to compete with so much copy and paste posts before it quicky falls down the feed. I hope the community feature, which is promised will help us sift through all the clutter and be able to spend our time viewing posts which are of more value. For now i think we just have use rhis time to create our own voice on Steemit whatever the views. Hopefully the filtering will improve.

Wow you've got an interesting trail upvoting this post. Well done.

Am I number 10? I feel the same way especially when I see some crap posts racking up $100 a day. Maybe if I started taking pictures of my cooking or tracking crypto trades...

We should transition into becoming a hot Korean or Chinese girl!

This is the main flaw that I see in steemit. The people that joined the community early on have so many followers that regardless of what they post they will make money, whereas the newcomers, even if they post great stuff, will only get a small reward.

Exactly... almost regardless what they post... bam: instant upvotes and resteems.

But it's all good though. This post exceeded my expectation!!! 😂

It had a really catchy title. Good job.

Hahaha. Good post. I'm in the same boat... I've got a few cheesy techniques for squeezing a bit of value out of my posts now, but my last one garnered 84 upvotes and 12 views.
You're right. I'm sure that if I had 100 views I'd have something more like 150 upvotes..... keep gathering those followers, and keep posting on comments. That is what will get you the most followers, I think, and from the demographic that YOU want to talk to.

Yes that's pretty much it. But then it comes down to Steemit being a networking platform first instead of a platform that helps get quality content above.

I think Steemit can improve big time on the way it delivers content on everyone's feeds. It's still e beta so who knows what's coming ;)

yesss..I'm lucky viewer number 5. High 5! :P

As much as I'd love to impart the secret, I have no idea since I've only been here like 4 days myself. When you figure it out, please let me know hehe.

Lucky number 5!

I think Steemit needs to work on feeds to get certain content up. For us it'll come to keep posting and commenting quality content.

Amen to that - following you, let's help eachother out! On that note, I just joined this minnowsupport thing yesterday (https://steemit.com/@minnowsupport) but I'm not sure it's working. I think it's supposed to upvote my posts but not seeing that happen..hmmm...

If you have access to their PAL server in discord. Make sure you register yourself in the registration channel. The bots will tell you what to do. When that's done you can have a post upvoted every 12 hours but you have to do that in the upvote channel yourself.

Wonderful Post. How long did you spend there? It looks like a place that can influence one's outlook towards life positively. @valderrama

Have you read my post?

I dont think it did.

I feel your pain.

I'm leaning on the thought that Steemit success is a long game, made up of connections and good content over the long haul.

I see you are already familiar with the #minnowsupportproject and PAL room. Personally, I've seen that be pretty helpful all-around.

Otherwise, I'd say the secret is to comment and connect and de-prioritize content creation to some degree.

"When does the hurting stop?"

I think I post and comment a decent amount. And the stats show my influence is growing so there is absolutely a positive upside to it. But again... 10 views... 😨😭

Keep up the good work though mate!

Hey great points @somethingsubtle , I think we all need to help eachother so it's win win. By the way, as I just mentioned above, I'm not sure if the #minnowsupportproject is working for me. How do you know it's working? What results have you personally noticed from it?

Upvoted because of this post followed because of your crypto posts. Resteemed also :)

Completely understood at least some views would be good I don't need an upvote all the time but a good/helpful post should at least get some views.

nope, you're wrong. this post is crap. I regret clicking.

Haha. Well it's a good thing you're not following me then!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60986.03
ETH 2921.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.57