You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit, Inc. brand and logo are intellectual property that are protected by law. DO NOT USE THEM.

in #steemit7 years ago

I reckon they can have their logo, for their productive purposes. Should I reference their product, I shall identify it appropriately.

Further, insofar as Steemit is used in materials that identify this platform, for example, "I am a Steemit user.", or, "Come join Steemit!", no violation of their brand has occurred, as I am not attempting to usurp their productive utilization of their brand and property.

Insofar as I have advertised Steemit, I could as easily sue them for the value of my advertising work, as they could sue me for it.

Just as I can say 'Wheaties', 'Cap'n Crunch', or 'Grape Nuts' in reference to those products, I can say 'Steemit'. The point of the legal protection is to keep me from competing with them by using their brand and logo.

I won't.

Thanks!

Sort:  

You have a very good understanding of the issue. I like the way you explained it. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 64215.81
ETH 3150.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86