You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Thoughts About Curation and Distribution of Rewards on Steemit

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

First of all, I congratulate you for the time allocated to scan yourself, to see what YOU think about the topics in the article :) Steemit is one hell of a "platform" (though is more than that) isn't it? I sometimes get myself over excited about it and then I calm myself thinking that behind those accounts there are people and people shouldn't be taken for granted. But that's just me :) the sceptical eye in everything.

I can only disagree with the bots part. I'm 4-5 months old but I still don't get it. The whole idea of bots is to put you in the TRENDING page (apart from the supposedly 20% income that they should give on the vote IF this damn market would be stable...which is not). Well, I have to say that I personally am not using the trending pages. I only search on "new" because:

  1. that's where the potential rewards are, ho ho ho! Curation rewards... that must mean that I get something If I discover something so what's the point of rambling on the trending pages? Maybe content...

Hmmm... rarely. Only when Curie, ADSACTLY or OCD decide to show up. In the rest of the time, there are only "promoted" articles which I personally skip, thank you.

  1. I guess the whole point of being "a curator" is to start sorting things out down there, in the "slums" :)

I hear everybody saying that buying votes is "promoting content". I'm sorry to disagree. Once you get a hold of your account and you get it a little bit tidy (busy.org is great for this) you can really start living in "the buble". Like you do on facebook. So keeping yourself informed on a daily basis is not that hard once you stop being excited about the damn rewards.

So if we agree that the real income in curation is on new, that we lie to ourselves when we say "we promote" the post by upvoting it with a bot, that articles who deserve curation are on the "new" page and that you can keep yourself informed about the really juicy, already curated articles by following the right accounts... why are bots useful?!

Sorry for the long comment man, I felt like writing. :)

Sort:  

Yes, I know the argument that bidbots prevent quality undiscovered content from surfacing.

From my point of view there are two different paths of growth one can choose from (if you don't come with a whale account from the start):

  • the long one, which excludes bidbots
  • the medium-long one, which includes bidbots

I have never used bots for promoting my content, so I guess I took the longer path. But I understand those who want to make an impact sooner. For me, it is of utmost importance what they do with their growing influence, not if they use bots to grow or not.

I've also said it numerous times. For me it doesn't exist the Trending (or even the Hot) pages. It exists my Feed and when I have time, the New posts, targeted on a particular tag. But Trending page exists for other people, otherwise there wouldn't be such a fight to get there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.029
BTC 69188.87
ETH 3670.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.24