SteemConnect: Question Regarding Keys

in #steemit6 years ago

I'm sorry if this is a dumb question, but I'm new around here.
I watched a cool video on dTube (Brewhouse Mural by @abrockman), and I wanted to log in and upvote it. When I did it took me to SteemConnect, which I think is an official Steem project.
Now, I have had helpful advice from more established Stemmians (I'm looking at you
@johndoer123): never stay logged in using your owner password. I found that I could log in through the posting password and do most everything.
connect.png
When I tried to log into dLive, though SteemConnect, it wants my owner's password. It won't accept my posting password.
I'm hesitant to give this out.
What gives?
I think it would be helpful if Steem hired some good copyright lawyers and shut down the many unofficial projects that us the name Steem. It would help solve some of the confusion.
Cheers.

Sort:  

The only dumb question is the one that is not asked. Also are you using a computer or mobile device? I'm only on an Android so this may not work the same for you. And also I'm not super familiar with Dlive. However I just went to Dlive and attempted to upvote a video. I was able to log in using my Steemit account. I did not have to put in any passwords. And I am logged into Steemit using my public posting password. When I went to upvote I got this screen.
Screenshot_20180525-154532.png
I hit the log in with Steem tab. And confirmed I wanted to use my johndoer123 account.
Screenshot_20180525-154547.png
It sent me to a confirmation page.
Screenshot_20180525-154542.png
I hit continue and it then showed me it worked.
Screenshot_20180525-154609.png
If this doesn't work for you @webbie let me know and I will connect you with someone who will definitely be able to answer your question.
NEVER HESITATE TO ASK QUESTIONS. AND NEVER FEEL YOU ARE A BURDEN DEAR FRIEND!

Thanks for replying.
I just don't like SteemConnect. Why does it want my owner password? I just logged on to dTube without going through SteemConnect, and it explicitly asked for my posting key.login.png
I guess I won't use dLive. Not a big deal, since I got into dTube.

Agreed. If you're not comfortable doing it. Don't. I've always used dtube for my uploads.

Congratulations @webbie! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your Board of Honor.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last announcement from @steemitboard!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Vote for its witness and get one more award!

You have been selected for Sjennon Support of this week!

selected sjennon.png

You will receive an upvote from me on your posts (max. 2 per day) for the coming week! Click here to go to the announcement post.

Feel free to nominate your wonderful friends and who knows? Maybe they will benefit from Sjennon Support next week!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62414.94
ETH 3019.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.58