Sort:  

voting bots are harmful to the platform.

please tell us how?

We need to find a way to reduce the utilisation of these bots or they could make steem full of crap and bad articles

Loading...

As a relative newcomer to Steemit, I can see the pros and the cons from the bot side. Reddit was originally seeded with tons of fake bot users to encourage activity and usage among real users. In the long term I think they will need some curtailing but in the short term I believe that it helps newbies like me get exposure on our hard working posts.

For instance, I work incredibly hard on our posts writing 100% original content on addiction, life and recovery posts. They very rarely, if ever, get seen and so I rely on bots to help encourage activity on them from others. Otherwise, how else would it appear that the content has some activity on it?

I like the detail you've put in to this post and also the willingness to look at both sides of the coin. Thanks for the insight. Let me know what you think.

I look at the up-vote bots as post promoters. If you want to get your post noticed, use an up-vote bot to bump up the vote.

How do you feel about your 34.61% buildawhale and $29.90 minnowbooster upvotes?

Oh its great loving it and and hopefully more bots can give bigger returns and up-votes

You might want to read this as well Bots - We Need More Bid Bots Or Up Vote Bots

It's Sad but its true!

very nice article mate, you've hit on a raw subject for a lot of people. I generally don't use the bots much, but if I've had a string of really poor payouts I might use them occassionally.
I think the bot interaction needs to be moderated similar to the post I just did in terms of reputation building.

But you have to consider those that use the bot that "do" give out good quality content that doesn't get exposures. As time goes by, it will be harder for good content creator to show on the trending/hot list. If that's the case, people will tend to lose hope on posting on the site. They might ask, why should I post if my great quality content isn't getting the upvotes it suppose to have. They might also think that, other oddly and not so much good quality content are up there and getting their over valued upvotes. My two cents on the bots. Of course, your point of view is also good to consider.

You might also want to read Bots - We Need More Bid Bots Or Up Vote Bots

There are more comments there from people who are against the bots.

Bots are tools to be utilized, use it to our advantage and if not performing that's when we dump it.

It's impossible to ban bots so we will need to learn to live with them. I hope bot writers are responsible and think about how their bots affect the community. Steem is a social network and derives its value from human interaction. I'm in favour of bots that enhance the abilities of humans to be more human (convenience tools). This place will not survive if the humans leave though.
I'm about to post about AI on Steem where I go into a little more detail about these ideas.

Bots are definately a thread to steemit, I hope the creators/developers will do something to prevent the precense of bots in the future, i think the concept of rewarding good content definately has a future, however; if this kind of fraud will become a regular thing i wont be optimistic about the future of steemit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 65139.82
ETH 3206.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16