This is why Steemit scares the shit out of me.

in #steemit7 years ago

Hello friends,



So I watched a video here and it has connected a lot of dots for me. It connects directly to the Cosmic Disclosure series and it really sheds light on what we're actually supporting by joining crypto communities like Steemit.

Every post you make on Steemit is recorded and tied to your identity.

At least we're getting paid now right?
Well, what if you had to be tied to a crypto-community to get paid and feed yourself. Then, on top of the fact you can no longer live off grid, everything you say and do is watched. Not so decentralized anymore. While 99% of us are posting our opinions and earning money, what is the other 1% doing with all our information. 1984?

Does this platform really support collaboration?

I want to believe that if I posted some of my revolutionary ideas that could really make a difference, I will be met with community experts, funding, and all the tools I need to implement action. I'm just not convinced.
What seems more likely is that my ideas will be washed away by the sea of blogs and entertainment. All the things that comfort us and make us believe everything is alright. -- It could be A LOT better.
What I fear is that if my idea actually took off and I got a lot of support, I may be targeted and made an enemy of the state because I challenge the status quo. I'm afraid that my ideas won't attract the "right" people to me.

If you watched the first video I linked, Steemit seems to be on the forefront of this agenda.

I mean, how many of us aren't robots here? I'm not even going to speculate all the terrible things that could happen if the human race gave our power to AI. It honestly seems like a good idea, make robots work while we sip kool-aid. That wouldn't ever be a solution if our economy was centered around the people. Why would we need robots if we had all the healthy food, private shelter, fresh water, and clean air that we all seek. - the world already has enough resources to offer that and yet all the time and energy is spent for the upper class on materialism.

The connection that Steemit promotes here is great!

and yet, I've even caught myself following and promoting things just to earn a buck. It's crazy what we will go through when our needs aren't met. When were all focused on a payout (for me that means making rent and buying food) are we really collaborating for change? I mean who cares about the life changing post thats earned $1.25, no ones watching, it won't add value until you start sending Steem to voting bots. shivers... robots.

Where is all this money anyway?!

Did you know we have over 20 trillion dollars of debt and only 1.2 trillion physical dollars circulating? What gives Steemit value is the USD placing value on it. Since our economy isn't sustainable, how can Steemit be sustainable within that economy. It feels like this could all fall apart at any moment. I mean, I think I understand crypto currency, and yet, it all makes no sense. The USD functions on its own and represents the wealth of the US economy. Steemit functions as a subsidiary of Fiat currency and represents the curation of entertaining content?

maybe I'm being a bit cynical.

Oh well, tell me what you think.

Aloha,
Dylan

Sort:  

Cool! I follow you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68418.37
ETH 3743.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65