Bernie vs Haejin

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

If you have been living under a rock you might not have noticed the current battle between Bernie and Haejin.

The battle seems pretty straight forward, Haejin makes 10 posts a day and a large account upvotes them all.  The account that upvotes him is @ranchorelaxo, and from what I gather the complaint is that he is being selfish by only upvoting only one account, @haejin.  


He has a pretty big stake.


If everyone is free to use their stake how they want, there isn't any wrong doing here on either side.  @ranchorelaxo can upvote who he likes for whatever reasons, and on the other hand Bernie and friends can use their stake to try to influence the platform via flags, organized or not.  Fair is fair.

However, I do wonder what the desired result is.  If Ranchorelaxo decides to power down, nobody really gained anything from the battle we just end up with about the same distribution of rewards and a slightly smaller Market Cap.  Do they think they can force him to vote for others?  How do they know it wouldn't just be other sock-puppet accounts?  Do they trust him to seek out engaging articles and upvote them?

I'm just a little confused about what the desired outcome is.

In any case, when the whales flag each other the rewards are returned to the reward pool and distributed to the other posts, so there is a benefit there.

Pros of Flagging Haejin

  • Return funds to reward pool
  • Get him off the trending page
  • Sends a message to others 
  • Drama

Cons of Flagging Haejin

  • It is a lot of stake and energy caught up in a negative battle
  • Drama
  • Forces him to find other ways to exploit his stake
  • Sends a message to others

I've seen some newer end-users state that Haejin is taking from the community reward pool, but that is a different perspective than I have.    Ranchorelaxo can only allocate the amount of stake he controls, so if he is forced off the platform the stake he is allocating would also be gone.  I see that as a wash.


As I find myself unable to pick a side, I've decided to make some popcorn and watch the show!

What else can I do after all?

What are your thoughts.

@whatsup



Sort:  

I think their fight could go on a LOOOONG time. lol

I disagree. Why? I'm Smart and @berniesanders is dumb. It's a fact, not a debunk. Truly, it is.
You shall see soon what I mean.

Based on your technical analysis, you could do with some more grey matter

I've been keenly interesting in this feud but, like you, I am not interested in taking sides publicly.

The thing is, Steemit is set up just for this. If there's a member of the community that for whatever reason isn't doing things that enough users don't like, they can actually give their opinion a financial weight by these sorts of mass-flagging, costing a single user many hundreds of dollars in payouts.

I've also seen that there are flags going around for any accounts that were involved in this, and I seriously can't afford to become a target of a whale in some negative way.

Interestingly enough, that's part of the anarchic community system we have here. I am watching what I say and how I voice my opinions because the opinions of the community can have a direct repercussion on me. This is very different than facebook or twitter; I am directly incentivized to be cautious and polite.

That is, unless I have a million steem powered up and I don't care what my posts earn lol

Excellent and thoughtful points. Regarding this conflict, I keep changing my mind. I really can see both sides, I am not even trying to be PC. :)

I like that you pointed out there are financial reasons to be careful who people decide to take on. I know at least one person had their account flagged hard today as the result of some crossfire.

Precisely. There's a sharp learning curve on Steemit that normal Internet users are not used to.

People are used to saying whatever they want to whoever they want with little to no consequence from other users beyond a shouting match.

With Steemit, though, you actually have to be careful who you talk to, or even who you curate -- or even who curates you (I saw people in this feud saying they were flagged by one or the other because their enemy upvoted their content -- how absurd! I can't control who upvotes me! I would feel terrible if some whale flagged me because another whale he was fighting with decided to upvote my post).

In any case, it teaches me the lesson of not sticking my nose where it doesn't belong. :p

I dived right in, I don't like haejin for many reasons

  • he is giving unregulated financial advice
  • he is more often wrong than right
  • he posts 10 times a day with low value content and getting massive upvotes from one whale (they are both working this scam)
  • as the reward pool is fixed, haejins rewards, for basically drawing some lines on a graph are reducing rewards for others who have much better content
  • he does not invest into the community that makes him a lot a money

I cannot sit by and let this happen. I have had my account flagged to oblivion. I don't care, what is right is right and time will tell

I just sit back with my popcorn and enjoy it! I thoroughly enjoy following the saga and all of the posts about it all!

This one has been really interesting to me because I could argue either side! I also admit to enjoying some drama once in a while. On other days, I like to pretend I am above it. :)

Haha I love seeing all of the posts from others in the community pro Bernie or pro Haejin and their reasons for their positions

There will be a time when @berniesanders will come to fuck you up..after I've fucked him up!

Good, glad you're enjoying it!

You managed to perfectly pack todays headline into 1 funny picture !!!
congratulation!

I think the problem is that while you technically can use your stake however you want, what they're doing goes against everything we're supposed to do here. We're supposed to upvote good content. Instead, they're using their massive stake to upvote shit and throwing the whole system out of whack. This place cannot exist unless people upvote good content that they like. If everyone just upvotes whoever pays the most, the shit is what ends up rewarded the most, the bot owners make the most profit, and the entire experiment fails.

There's no incentive to spend hours on a post if we know we're only gonna get a few bucks for it, while assholes in trending get hundreds for absolute shit.

Unless we fix this, we're all doomed. Steem will fail and be replaced by something that deals with this shit just slightly better.

Flagging is just bailing out water though. We need to actually fix it.

There is no fixing it. My opinion, it is also my opinion that it isn't broken.

Well it's not my thing. I cannot imagine doing that with that kind of Power. But it's his Stake. I guess he is free to do what he wants with it.

Just curious does he ever Upvote other Content Producers who really add value to the Blockchain ? Or is it totally Upvoting his self with 100% voting powerr ??

Anyway, I too wonder what the end game are they after ??

Thanks @whatsup for Posting

I agree with your pros and cons. I used to think that downvoting was worth it. Then I realized that every downvote only brought hostility and bad feelings. If I instead used that vote to reward good content then it would bring positivity and increase the quality of the community. I am betting that positivity will win!

Just grab some popcorn and enjoy the show :>

@whatsup,
Seriously I hate both parties! Anyway the best method is take a Pop Corn and watch who will drain first :D

Cheers~

Yah I get all your points and valid question!

I look at it as:

  1. Do I want Steem to go down in price if he powers down and then I buy some

or

  1. Do I want Steem to go up because it is staked

Not sure!

Buy SBD and do the conversion trade.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66407.27
ETH 3219.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34