You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Some Possibly Sacrilegious Thoughts About "Investors" and Steemit

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

I talk about this often. I can't call anyone draining a business (if you want to call it that) of money in the first 2 years an investor. That isn't investing, I don't know what to call it, but I laugh every time I hear them talk about their expectations as investors. They certainly don't qualify as angel investors.

I worked in Start-ups that went public. Every investor I knew was active in the fray seeing what they could add to a young business, pulling in contacts, resources and spending time and money building. Not screaming about taking early profits. If you steemicide I go out with you.

Frankly, it's getting old listening to it anyway. Tides are changing, competition is coming and I think they are going to get a big wake up call.

Sort:  

In general, buying and hodling crypto is not investing.

Yeah, that, right there.

But hey, day traders have been clamoring for respect as "investors" since the days of trading "pink sheet" OTC penny stocks.

It's not INVESTING! It's SPECULATING!

It's speculators all the way down.

Yeah, you're right, it's getting old. And I'm getting old, listening to it.

The closest we have to "investors" here are the people who put in $500K of their own money to develop some kind of app/program/bidbot in order to profit. But even that is more like "working capital management" than anything. Somebody like @blocktrades, perhaps. But it's still more brokerage and arbitrage than it is investing.

Part of the problem that sometimes makes me feel like I'm going prematurely gray is the incredibly "Steem centric" thinking about here. Everything is about "the magic of Steem" and nobody's looking at how the psychology of the outside world functions and nobody's taking much of a look at the massive fuckups that led to other companies' demise.

"Yeah, but Steem/Steemit is special and different!"

Yeah, you're "special and different," alright... because you drank a particular brand of Kool-Aid that suddenly rendered you exempt from the quirks of human nature and psychology...

Sorry, that was a bit snarky, but still...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62996.10
ETH 3122.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88