Steemit, Long Ramp-Up Time if you are new to Cryptocurrencies

in #steemit7 years ago

As part of my intention to contribute to the community, I have some funds lying around that I want to invest as Steem Power.

I have no prior experience with Cryptocurrency and my goodness it is taking a lot of hoops to try and get my money into the circulation. Who knew!?!?....

It's 4 days here, 3 days there - getting a wallet and then trying to buy bitcoin because it's hard to just buy Steem directly and then verifying the bank account and the limits (which are abysmal compared to what I had in mind to invest) and then request for ID to increase amounts - but no indication of what the new limit will be. It's crazy. I've spent the better part of two weeks...and at each turn hoping I can finally acquire the crypto currency I want but still nothing can be done yet.

Oh well, I guess it's all safety and security measure...and I get it. But I really thought I'd be all set by now.

Also having trouble setting up my steemit.chat account - at first it wouldn't register me and the verification link didn't work - then tried a to set it up again and it said that email was already used - so I did password reset and it won't accept anything as a new password - just says error in resetting password. If anyone has run into this or has any tips, that would be greatly appreciated.

Anyway, thanks for reading - hope this proves helpful for others who do not already own cryptocurrency and wanted to jump in :)

Sort:  

It takes a little time figuring out everything for the first time. Then you will figure out easy ways, etc. Its kind of good that it has taken some time for you, otherwise you may have bought much higher around $1.50 or more. You should be able to get in at a good price now. How much are you looking to buy?

Good point, I have been keeping an eye on the price, it's definitely more in my favor now. IDK I was thinking ~ $10k to throw into the mix. At the current bitcoin price I guess that means buying about 2 or so bitcoins and then converting to Steem to power up with.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61233.41
ETH 2934.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56