Reputation Milestone

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

Imgur

newbreakline_darker_color.png

Finally after what seems forever, I have finally reached my final goal..... A 60 reputation score!

When I started on Steemit there were 3 things that I wanted to achieve.

  • Become a Dolphin……...check
  • Get 1000 followers…....check
  • Get a 60 Rep……….................................check (At Last!)

newbreakline_darker_color.png


Imgur

Well, it is like the name suggests. Your Rep or reputation score shows how well you are doing on Steemit. The score is based on the votes you have received. It is a good indicator on how serious one is about Steemit. A high Rep usually indicates a couple of things.

  • The author has been on the platform for a while (believe me it is not easy to get to 60 quickly

  • The author has been actively posting for a while

  • The author has been behaving accordingly on the Steem Blockchain

To quickly gain a high rep you need to be actively posting and commenting in order to get upvotes. The person that upvotes you needs to have a non-negative reputation and the higher the vote value the more reputation points you will receive.

Be careful though, you can also lose Rep…
If someone decides to flag you, your reputation score will decrease if that person has a higher reputation than yours. So it is important not to get flagged because your reputation score can suffer because of it.

Imgur

There is also another important thing to know about your reputation score and that is that it is also a tool to hide low quality content. If your Rep drops below 25 your posts will be hidden. It is a way of making sure that people who are abusing the site by posting low quality content or continuously plagiarizing are kept in check.

You will find that in the beginning it is easy to raise your reputation score but as it gets higher it gets more difficult to earn points. This has everything to do with the logarithmic scaling meaning that it will get harder to earn reputation point at higher reputation levels. So it is going to take longer to get to the next level as your Rep goes up.

To summarize….A high Reputation score is good and and a reputation score lower than 25 is bad.


Imgur


Where can you find it?

You can find your Rep on your home page right next to your username. But if you want to have a more detailed statistic you can use SteemWorld.


Imgur

Your Reputation score on your home page.


Imgur

On SteemWorld you will find a more detailed Reputation score that makes it easier to track your progress

newbreakline_darker_color.png


Imgur

There are many ways to evaluate whether Steemians are worth following and serious about Steemit. You can look at how much they invested (Steem Power), You can look at how much they have posted and how often, You can look at their voting power but the most accurate indication is the Reputation score.

You will need to work hard to get a reputation on Steemit and the reputation score is Steemit’s way of quantifying that effort.


Don_t_forget_to_leave_a_comment_banner.png

newbreakline_darker_color.png


Imgur



newbreakline_darker_color.png

Read more about: SteemWorld |

newbreakline_darker_color.png


recent_posts_header.png

Imgur

Imgur

Imgur


Imgur

Imgur

newbreakline_darker_color.png

Sort:  

Congratulations I can see real effort has been put into your account as well as your posts it’s no wonder you’ve reached your milestone

I’ve been on steemit since October but only been blogging seriously since last month and it’s been great I’ve foud so much cool content that I deleted my Facebook, insta and other social apps because they were just a waste of time really

Here I can find things I’m really interested in and get opinions from people who have the same interests everyone is super willing

Also as you learn about steemit the communit is always willing to teach you just like you did in this post

I’ve set out the goal of giving steemit a year and seeing how far I can go I’d like a Rep of 50 in that time!

Setting goals is a great way to make some headway. You can really focus on what you are trying to accomplish. Remember to aim high, when I started I never thought that I could ever become a Dolphin in a year but I was able to get there in 6 months! Just keep Steemin' and stay positive....

Wel done. I have the Same ambition I have been here 10 weeks and doing ok but want to be great. I have one question
There were two bad comments two Steem accounts who told me to go #%$¥*<¥~#% they had a rep of 25 those people are jealous off My content dont know that I work My ASS off and breath steemit. What or Where can you give up those plagiats?
Sorry maybe you dont know either I wish you next 65 rep and 1250 followers
Love from Holland
Brittandjosie

Dank je wel, brittandjosie :) Je kunt bij Steemcleaners melding maken als mensen plagiaat plegen. Onbeschoft gedrag wordt meestal door mensen met veel Steem Power afgestraft. Laat je niet gek maken, zelfs op Steemit kom je soms rare snuiters tegen. Keep Steemin'...

Grappig ik had niet gezien dat je zo dichtbij woont en ook een rotterdamert bent!
ThAnx ik ga ze bij Steemcleaners aangeven zit me zo dwars. Natuurlijk ga ik door! i’ll blog on brother👊 Fijne avond en bedankt voor je antwoord.

Congrats @xervantes! It is has been fun watching you edge closer to your final goal. Keep making new goals and keep Steeming on!

Thank sumatranate, I will take some time to set my new goals, I will set them high to really push myself. I hope that you can hit that 60 mark soon :)

Getting close, but it is a slow process the higher you get!

Congrats on rep 60! :)

It also matters if you are upvoted by someone with a higher reputation score than yours.

That's actually not true, the FAQ is wrong on this point. The only thing that matters is that the voter has a non-negative reputation. The higher the vote value, the faster your reputation will increase. The reason it takes longer to get to higher reputations is that the scale is logarithmic.

If someone decides to flag you, your reputation score will decrease.

here comes the reputation dependency: Your reputation will only decrease if the downvoter has a higher reputation than you.

Hey Thanks for clearing that up :) I will correct this. I guess that it will take some time to get to 70 :)

Oh, yes, that will take some time :) I'm not 100% sure I did the math right, but I ended up at upvotes from a total of around 300 million SP (currently worth around 35,000$) to get from 60 to 70. Let's get it on! :)

Congratulations ! I'm "nearly" there too and I'm quite excited about it !

I would just like to clarify that the posts hidden for users with a reputation below 25 is only on Steemit and websites that decide to enforce this rule. If tomorrow, Busy decided to hide posts under 20 of reputation instead of 25, they would be able to do it with no problem at all.

Anyway, congrats again for this milestone, it's quite a big one to achieve ! Let's aim for 65 now ;)

Hey mede-Rotterdammert, gefeliciteerd! :-) Ik ben er ook bijna!

Dank je wel :) Ben er echt blij mee. Het duurde bij mij trouwens wel lang van 59 naar 60, hoop dat het bij jou snel gaat. Altijd leuk om NL-ers te ontmoeten hier.

Ik hoop ook dat het snel gaat! Het ziet er toch net effe wat volwassener uit he, die 60 ;-)
Zeker leuk om meer Nederlanders te ontmoeten hier, zelfs aardig wat Rotterdammers tegengekomen! :-)

Man, I am chasing down some of those milestones.
I have 750 followers and a 59 rep. It has taken me 21 moons to get this far!

Man you are an O.G Steemer from '16 :)...cool. It can be hard work getting those milestones but in the end as I am concerned worth it. Gonna think about what I am going to chase after next...

Yeah, I signed up a long time ago but wasn't always active. I never was much of a social media poster.
Steemit helped me get out of my comfort zone eventually. Really wish that I had started posting earlier instead of just browsing and reading.

Congratulations man! I never really look at the rep of authors I know well, the same applies to you, not really looking at your rep. You're a decent content creator and I'm a bit amazed you weren't higher. Way to go! Party time :-D

Thanks Jef, I am very happy about it. I kinda took a break from Steemit last year that is probably why my Rep didn't grow as fast as it should.

Congrats @xervantes, that is a huge thing that you have achieved so far, yes indeed, not so easy to get at your current stage. but i believe that you will get more than that.

Regards

Congrats again! I didn't met my goals and i know now they were a bit too optimistic. My goal was to reach 60 after a half year and 70 after one year. I was not so far away from the first (if i look at the number) but i'm quite sure now the second goal is not realistic at all (because of the huge increase of necessary rep points with each level).

So i decided to set new goals. The first one is:

Reach 60 this year!

and the second

Get 2000 followers this year!

Currently i think it is possible!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61519.90
ETH 2995.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.45