Steemit writer still sad about missing views counter goes to Reddit to check views on Steemit posts...

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

It's been a few weeks, but it still hurts...

Nearly three weeks ago, Steemit lost a feature many of its bloggers loved - the views counter.

Sure, it was flawed.

Yes, it did not give a true account of readership or engagement, which is more accurately found via voting support.

But I still miss it.

The views served a purpose. The counter quietly worked as a gentle, intermittent positive reinforcement that motivated me to continue blogging. Even when I received zero votes, it was comforting to know several dozen or even several hundred readers had perused my articles. It's true, the votes are worth more, but it still gave me an idea of the level of reader interest.

Granted, I can get a pretty good gauge of reader interest by looking at the number of views my posted articles get on other sites like Reddit, for example. But should I really need to rely on other websites to gauge the level of interest on Steemit? Isn't it kinda weird to check views for an article about Steemit, not on Steemit, but on Reddit? Isn't the goal of Steemit to eventually replace some of these other venues? In reality, I am more often checking my Reddit responses and views because I can not check them here on the Steemit platform.

So I'm writing my article on Steemit, posting it on Reddit, checking the views counter on Reddit, engaging with comments on Reddit, and maybe checking back on Steemit to see if I picked up a few votes. This a little weird and a bit awkward.

It's disappointing. Maybe there is a legitimate reason for it. Maybe it's just because it shows that promoting articles doesn't actually result in significantly higher view numbers, and thus reveals that there aren't a lot of reasons to invest in promoting articles.

I don't know about that. I just know, I would like to know how many views my posts are getting right here on Steemit.

Am I alone?

*This is not professional trading advice - it's just my opinion!

If you're interested in trading cryptocurrencies, check out Binance by using this link and sign up today!

If you are Canadian, check out Coinsquare for a solid crypto exchange without the hassles of USD conversion fees. You can sign up at this link.

Sort:  

First post to say that I found you on Reddit and saw you right here. ✌️

The people outside of Steemit will not give you more money if they are not on this platform.

True. But they might learn about Steemit and join.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62559.43
ETH 3092.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86