You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 'Interesting' content > Trending?

in #steemit6 years ago

I think the whole issue is just the idea that the "highest quality" content will rise to the top. I don't think there's any way to achieve that without using human curation.

Any change that is made to the trending algorithm will just be gamed like @fullcoverbetting already said and we'll end up back where we started.

I think your idea of renaming trending is probably one of the best I've heard (though I might choose a different name!). But why not just call it what it is? "Highest Promoted Content" or something like that. Even if a post doesn't use any bots or pay for promotion, any upvote is promotion, and trending is just the posts with the highest amount of stake-weighted upvotes.

After my recent post on voting bots I have another post in the works about how I think the stated goal of "highest quality content rising to the top" can actually be achieved through a partly human-curated "trending" page on sites outside of steemit.com (similar to how Utopian works). Hopefully I'll be able to get that one finished a bit more quickly!

Sort:  

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59043.03
ETH 2983.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72