SteemIt Suggestion: Report how much we give by our upvotes

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

crane_work.jpg

It looks like the SteemIt Witnesses were engaged in a high wire act with the blockchain this morning. I took a few pictures of a crane the other day that seemed appropriate for the drama.

I came up with an idea that might encourage folks in the plankton to buy STEEM POWER.

Krill like me focus entirely on how much we receive from the platform without considering what we give.

This is impart because of the data we see. Most of the data on SteemIt and SteemD focus on the rewards we receive.

I contend that most people have an altruistic streak and are interested in how much STEEM they give out. The reports I encounter don't show how much I have given to other Steemians.

I've been here for 168 days. According to SteemItBoard.com, I've upvoted 1305 posts. According to the upvote calculator. The value of my vote during this period has probably been $0.0005 during this period at today's prices.

That means I have given a grand total of $0.65 to the SteemIt.com world. Most of this was washed away as a rounding errors.

I was truly shocked when I realized how little my upvotes give to others.

It took me a long time before I did these calculations.

I think that the best way to build enthusiasm for buying STEEM_POWER is to put up some metrics on how much people are give out.

My calculations show that if I bought $360 of STEEM POWER (480 STEEM) and got my account to the point where my upvote was worth $0.02; then my account would give out about $75 a year.

The reason to buy STEEM POWER is that buying STEEM POWER increases the value of one's upvote.

BTW, buying STEEM POWER isn't just about influence. Personally, I don't give a flying flip about influence. Quite frankly, I've never had a good opinion of the people who set out to be professional influencers on social media.

I am not motivated by the desire to influence people. But I do care about other people, and the fact that having more STEEM POWER would mean that I was giving something to others would motivate me.

So, here is my suggestion: The site steemd.com has metrics about accounts. Midway down the left column are two mysterious figures called "Curation Rewards" and "Posting Rewards" followed by two mysterious figures.

curation_rewards.png

I have no idea what the figures by @steemd mean. I think they are loosely related to how much rewards I've received through my account.

BTW: I am puzzled how someone could create a wonderful tool like SteemD.com and not create documentation that tells us what the figures actually mean?

Anyway, assuming that these figures indicate how much rewards I receive, it would be jolly good fun to create a similar figure that showed rewards that I have given to others.

Since I have little STEEM POWER it would show that I've contributed bug squat. Err, uh, I mean I've given out krill squat. (I've gotta keep with the paradigm)

Okay, I admit, I felt kind of embarrassed when I realized that, even with all of my upvoting, I've only given out a half dollar so far. I think SteemIt would encourage people to buy STEEM POWER if they understood that buying STEEM POWER increases the amount that they give to the creators on the site. That is the end of my suggestion.

BTW, I would like to thank the witnesses who had a terrible day working on problems with the blockchain. Here is a picture showing how tall the crane I encountered was. (there was a lot of smoke from wild fires making the picture hazy.)

crane_wash.JPG

Sort:  

I had a .06 cent vote at one point. Here's a .04 cent vote though!😁 you should tag the account who made @steemd so they can hear your suggestion.

Posted using Partiko Android

I added a mention for @steemd. Is there a way to see mentions on SteemIt?

Personally, I suspect that the price of STEEM will continue to flounder. The problem is that anyone can create a cryptocurrency. If I were sizing up STEEM for its investment value alone, I would steer clear.

However, I see value in cryptocurrencies designs specifically for patrons. Sites like Patreon, GoFundMe, Indiegogo and Kickstarter are doing well simple because people like helping out others;

The white paper says that the STEEM smart token was created specifically as an award for creators. To realize this potential, they have to have mechanism that encourage people to buy STEEM so that they can give it to the sites and causes they support.

You can see the mentions on partiko. You are right. The incentive should end up being good content. As long as we have what people want they will support steem. There is also incentive in the price going higher and being worth more to specific poor countries or anybody really.

Posted using Partiko Android

I upvoted your post.

Mabuhay, keep steeming.
@Filipino

Posted using https://Steeming.com condenser site.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64534.17
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01