You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Narrative, Steemit, and the Influence of Power

in #steemit5 years ago

Wow what a post!

I sometimes look at my posts and think they could be broken up into individual ones so that I can more easily come up with quality stuff once a day.

This one is definitely like 10 posts in 1 and I can happily say I learned a few things.

Plus, I have memories of HATING Tales of Two Cities when I was forced to read it back in grade 10. So dry and dusty when all I wanted to read was science fiction. ;)

Awesome!

Sort:  

Longer posts get better search engine traction. On Steemit, I also think you can make your mark with long, detailed posts. They work for @quillfire and me. We take a topic and expound on it at length. It leads to a lot of upvotes and engagement. Isn't that what social media is about?

I'm glad you learned a thing or two. That's the point. I hope it pays off.

Ah yes. This is my first foray into blogging and I am constantly working to decide whether a long and involved post is more palatable or a quick hit with a succinct message is best. Kind of like balancing a documentary with awesome 30-second movie clips in order to cater to all walks of blog consumers.

Man. Is my marketing showing? ;)

Anyhow, glad to be studying from the best!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Quill, you're such a dope. :-)

My thoughts on length are much more simple. Google says size matters. Not only does it rank better, but it also converts traffic to dollars better. Neil Patel shows you how to do the math. But if you're writing just to feed the search engines, shame on you.

As @quillfire said, the proper length of an article is no more and no less than the material dictates. I've been writing online since the 1990s, and I've been blogging full-time since 2006. I have over 10,000 blog posts behind me and I've discovered that the key to successful content marketing is to be engaging. Keep it interesting, entertaining, and your audience engaged and they'll burn their dinner reading your content.

Here's something to think about: How long should a fiction story be? Hemingway wrote one in six words - "For sale. Baby shoes. Never worn." A Song of Ice and Fire by George R. R. Martin is seven volumes and over a million words.

How long should yours be? Only you can answer.

I would say get to know your audience. There are folks here who post several times a day. They post shorter posts and do just fine. I post once a day, or sometimes only two or three times a week, and usually post long posts. It depends on your style and your audience.

Loading...

This is setting new to me as well....a new learning that the lengthy post does count a lot. I have seen many but never realised

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63732.43
ETH 3135.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83