Introducing [paidqna.com]: Use Steemit like Stack Overflow and Quora!

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

My most successful post thus far has been the mere suggestion that we should start using this platform like popular Q & A sites. People could help each other with problems, the comments could get a little more love, and people might just make a little money along the way.

I am not a man to ignore market signals, so I went ahead and built an MVP site to facilitate using the Steemit platform for that exact purpose. To ask a question just do as follows:

  1. Post your question here on Steemit.
  2. Either include the hashtag #paidqna in the body of your post, or make paidqna one of your categories.
  3. Register your post with paidqna.com by submitting the link to the 'ask a question' form.
  4. Use the search form to browse other questions that you might be able to answer.

Other than including the hashtag, which is required, using the site should be fairly straightforward.





Obviously there is plenty of room for improvement which I would be happy to work on depending on how well this post does:

  1. Minimal thought has gone into design and aesthetics so far. It could certainly use a logo and some prettification.
  2. I plan to flesh out an 'about' section to help guide non-steemers in the right direction.
  3. I've wondered about implementing user accounts for the system so that people can flag posts for not being appropriate for the Q&A platform, not being appropriate for humanity, whatever. Perhaps even upvoting, as the upvotes disappear from the Steemit system rather quickly.
  4. I'm open to suggestions for a wide range of things, even the domain name.

A Quick Note

I think the Q&A format fits this system rather well as it would consistently generate content that requires quick interaction, plenty of user engagement all around, and provides genuine value even if the posts are kind of hit and run in nature. Posts make most of their money in 12-24 hours, can possibly make some more in 30 days, but then stop being payable all together. Because of that last part, I see no reason to try and police duplicate questions, especially if they're 30 days or more apart. So there is no need to try and seek out a single best answer the way Stack Overflow does. I've brought this issue up as I'm not sure why we stop rewarding posts at all, and I haven't seen any responses from movers or shakers about it, but if that's the way it works so be it. Ask away with reckless abandon.

Seriously, the system is empty. It needs to get filled up with content from you guys. Have a question you would normally put on Ask.com or Quora? Give it a shot on paidqna and see how it does!

I'm sure we'll encounter some bugs, so if you find any or have suggestions you can post them here, or on the slack channel I created at paidqna.slack.com. If you want access to the slack channel just give me an email I can invite you with. You can contact me at [email protected]

Sort:  

Thank-You

I followed You
I Really Liked Your Blog
Pretty Please Follow Me Back
Lets Become Dolphins Then Whales

Very nice! Definitely something Steemit needs, the ability to ask questions and get answers.

It seems like the right format, doesn't it?

I can totally see this taking off. Great work!

Thanks man, I appreciate it.

I like the idea a lot, but I get site error. "Site not configured"

There, I updated the link. I don't think the browser likes it if the link doesn't include 'www'.

Great, that fixed it!

Really? It seems to be showing up for me. Try typing it into the browser instead of clicking on the link. Chrome usually gives me weird message when I try to click from this page for some reason.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62931.02
ETH 3031.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64