The Invisible Hand of the Market, Hard at Work, with a Proposal

in #steemit6 years ago

Screenshot (37).png

I've been on Steemit for a little under a year now, and even in that short amount of time, I have had the amazing opportunity to experience firsthand the immense growth and change in our Steemit community. We've had more users, more supporters, bringing more unique and quality content to our once small community. But, with this impressive growth in membership comes a similar growth in competition as well.

I find myself working much harder than I used to in trying to appeal to my Steemit audience. I find that, my previous topics, methods, and expressions might not have the same effect as they used to and, frankly... I'm just not as successful. But, in many ways this phase of failure is motivating me to further deepen what I have to offer here on Steemit.

I do not have a unique experience, eclectic skill, or profitable business that directly makes Steem a great platform for me. Rather, my platform as taken on a more philosophical/scientific blog with some minor self-expression to boot. A year ago, I found that my self-expression--no matter what it was---tended to attract a bit of an audience. As long as I was transparent, evidence-based, and dedicated, my content was considered kosher. But, with so much more content out there now, so many more users, a reassessment of my quality is in order.

Just as Adam Smith proposed, this competitive market incentivizes my behavior to be the best it can be. So,I take this failure with a grain of salt, a friendly reminder that the market is working.

Screenshot (38).png

Anyway, I digress.. what am I going to do about my lacking audience? Well, I need to find out what I can offer to the Steemit community that not many others can nor will.

Here's What I Know:

  1. I have a passion for playing with ideas and writing about them.
  2. I also have a passion for researching and critiquing, which I find to be my most noteworthy skills.
  3. I need to somehow translate these passions into profitable content.
  4. Writing about them is not enough for my audience.

Screenshot (39).png

Potential Solution: Steemit Content Editor

Editing and Meta-editing. I can play with other's ideas and writing, edit their posts in return for a follow and/or a portion of their profits. I love editing and feedback and its an enjoyable hobby for me, so I'd be happy to do that for steemit users. And, hopefully, editing could provide me with some content of my own as I think about what people post, how successful they are, and how having an editor can help. In a sense, then, editing others' content becomes "meta-editing" in that I am simultaneously thinking and crafting my own content... a perfect symbiotic relationship, no? This solution inherently builds my audience, my community, and my own abilities as I work with others to expand the Steemit platform.

And, it may work for a little bit, it may not. But, either way, this is progress and growth, a needed change that will be my next step in engaging with Steemit. As always, I want suggestions, critiques, comments, etc from you all on this. But, more importantly, I ask that you try this out with me! Let's get in touch in the comments about the possibility of me as your editor. :)

Screenshot (36).png


(All of these pictures are my own.)

Sort:  

Nice article and very well explained. Upvote and follow for you. So that we do not miss any of your post.

Request you to please visit our blog @beinghuman.steem this blog is created to help poor children. Do share your opinion once you visit. Thanks

https://steemit.com/beinghuman/@beinghuman.steem/being-human-they-need-your-help

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70893.40
ETH 3659.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76