SteemitBJJ | Working Hard for a Pass!

in #steemitbjj6 years ago (edited)


Full videos coming soon. Be sure to follow myself and @shinedojo. We will both have full vids from our sessions. I've been working on passing lately, and @shinedojo is one of the hardest to pass. He is always attacking and controlling one of your limbs. And by the time you defend one limb he's on to the next one.

We have some great rolls and plan to post quite a bit of content soon. We are also considering a Saturday night livestream that will include us rolling, taking questions from the audience, talking about random nonesense that we both love including jiu jitsu, crypto and digital currency, comedy, vegan, animals, and anything else we freaking feel like!


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Good job with the guard retention while inverted, that position can get really uncomfortable. Resteemed.

@shinedojo has been toying with inverted for a few months now. It's def significantly increased his ability to defend the pass and he's always attacking limbs.

for sure, if you don't invert you are only guarding 180 degrees, but if you do, you double your defense.

I seem to be very comfortable while inverted, so stacking is not a good defense against me. I really haven't had any official training of inverted. The stuff i've been playing with has just been experimental. I find it's way easier to control larger opponents.

That it is, but just be careful of your back and neck, hen larger opponents drop weight, stack and fold you can find yourself in a bad position.

Nice roll. Bottom guy hip escape towards the side you got the underhook and enter a new world.

Thx! @shinedojo will have the full 11 mins of this one posted to d.tube soon. I'll be posting a different one also. I've always struggled with guard passing. I play bottom so much that I've ignored it. I'm finally getting some passes from open, and I stand up constantly in closed.

Not perfect, but #progress!

The first 4 years of training i spent them only rolling form my back and playing guard and bottom side, mount. Getting used to not turning your back to the ground since its so easy is a hard-to-brake habbit. Keep it up your grind will make you better.

Thanks for the tip. I do like to take the back a lot as well. I've been working a lot more on getting my legs involved. It has helped a lot with controlling larger opponents.

Your legs are the most important part of your grappling skills. They are stronger and bigger than your arms and the main reason legs are important in grappling is that they are your moving engine. No matter if you play top or bottom you can only move using your legs so put them in good use, try to roll more with your legs that your arms like 65/35.

Also check out that weird choke from the same position you just after you hip escape a bit to the underhook. More traditional options like armbars and back takes ofcourse are always there...

https://steemit.com/bjj/@ggrouse/no-gi-cross-choke-from-closed-guard-with-underhook

This was so much fun! I wish that our live video came out better than it did! I got a submission on the first two matches, but those videos mysteriously vanished...
I'm very excited for our upcoming project! We will get our ducks in line and announce an exact date for livestream. Make sure to tell your friends to watch a few goofballs rollings and having a good time.
Please follow @shinedojo @jiujitsu @danaedwards @bjjworldtraveler

Love it. Gonna have to join you guys sometimes so prepare yourself lol!

I'll be waiting!! Bring that boney shoulder pressure 😉

You will be in the pilot episode honey!

waaaww cool video, it's very entertaining and feel curious with full video.
I'll be waiting for your latest action!!
thanks @jiujitsu

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 70958.91
ETH 3798.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.46