A white belt who did not tap.

in #steemitbjj6 years ago

Today is Sunday, which means open mat in Luxembourg!
I was the only white belt there which always translates in getting my ass kicked and trying to learn enough tricks from the more advanced rollers.

At one point I was rolling with a blue belt. It was clear that he masters more skills than I do, so my best bet was to defend as good as I can.
Sometimes I try to hard, which results in using too much force instead of technique and not realizing what you are doing.
This was the case with the blue belt.
I was on my knees with my face down and him having control over my left arm, it looked to me that he was going for triangle.
Then he grabbed my collar with both hands around my neck and made his move.
I felt something tickling in my big vein on the left side of my neck.
I should have tapped, but I felt I could still resist.
And BOOM!
Off I went to space to see the stars and hearing weird sounds

bjj-lapel.jpg
Source

rocket-stars-shiny-blue-fire-flame-sky-vector-illustration-46988575.jpg
Source

Why I did not tap?

I train during the week mainly in Belgium with a lot of white belts like me. And our techniques are not that advanced yet, so it does not occur that often that I must tap.
But in Luxembourg, the people are more advanced, which results in this rookie mistake.

Moral of the story, do not forget to tap in time!

Sort:  

it can be very difficult for a group of white belts to learn together, even when you have a great instructor, if there is still only that one person to really teach....time is finite you know

much of the time my professor will tell us not to even submit white belts

Slowly but surely we are growing. And yes, it is big difference to train with mostly white belts as all of us reach their limits pretty fast.

I sometimes wonder what it would be like to go into a gym like if I was traveling and find a sea of whitebelts

what a great lesson, and writing about someone putting you to sleep tells a lot about the high level of your humbleness and the quality of student you are. Keep up the good work, and ALWAYS tap when you notice that you are in a compromised situation, is better to tap then resisting, get hurt and not be able to train for a while!

Nice Scene of first image Taken from MMA fighting, i like your post.

oh man I only saw this post now! I wanted to to vote on it...=( Yes that is a common mistake not to tap. I used to do that as well, and now I always tap right away to avoid injury. Especially with arm locks =)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62983.95
ETH 2962.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.58