You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Technology and Crypto are a guaranteed STAPLE in YOUR CHILD'S FUTURE - EDUCATE THEM NOW!

It's a big dilemma for parents, how much supervised exposure do you give your children. One thing I will say is that I will take supervised exposure and education over unsupervised any day of the week.

This covers social media, boys, alcohol, smoking etc

My daughter is 15 so the timelines are different for now but the content is the same.

At and early age she has been able to 'try' a tiny taste of alcohol. She had a wine glass the size of a thimble where she would have her own wine and invariably taste it and leave the rest. The mind set is that it has been normal for her and accessible to her and she's not that excited about it. Jaime has just finished her end of term exams and we went out for a drink and she asked for a small cider which took her a couple of hours to drink. That's a first!

I take an active interest in new tech and social media so that makes it a bit easier to control that side of things with your child. Not all parents are tech savvy and in my experience some parents hide away from it and let their kids get on with it, which in my opinion is really dangerous.

Jaime is asking about steemit and about joining. I'm reluctant to let her jump straight on but she is viewing my stuff and some of the steemitblogger stuff. I'm going to get her to write her own article that I will post for her and gradually introduce her to it. Her understanding of crypto and blockchain are not quite there yet.

I agree with your choices for your son @jaynie and think that not only are you guiding him in the right ways to behave and conduct himself without you there but you are bonding during the process anyway. Win Win!

Gaz

Sort:  

@cheese4ead I could not agree with you more! I think precisely what you have outlined in terms of your approach to parenting is exactly how it should be. So often, the things that are kept at bay become like the forbidden fruit and I would rather approach things precisely as you have.

As for Jude and steemit, at this point I still manage absolutely everything so am simply laying the foundation for him in the future... the only active part he has now is the creation of the videos and content.

but yes... definitely a win win!!! 😎

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63314.98
ETH 3233.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88