You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: If you want people to listen then you'll need to talk to them with more respect

I used to believe that if we could just get everyone to sit down and talk and listen to each other that all problems could be solved. We would find a common ground, or at least a meetingplace to work through any differences. And then came social media and my rude awakening to the fact that people would hold to their opinions beyond all rationality. This was even before this last election, but it's become much more obvious since then. I was amazed to see how my friends, who I considered to be rational, even spiritual people, had so much hate and venom roiling inside. And so willing to spew it. I have a wide circle of friends and we would talk for hours without politics ever coming up. Now it seems that's the only thing that defines them - and everyone else - if you don't agree with them you are cast into the outer darkness.

I don't have the answers but I'm glad to hear someone discussing the problem.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63182.56
ETH 3083.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83