You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Wants vs Needs

When your mind just sort of races

Yeah this happens probably 16 hours of every 24 hours to me... My mind and thinking NEVER stops.

But onto the needs/wants topic...
My dad always taught us from a very early age the difference between needs and wants in life.

needs- what you have to have to survive life
wants what you think you HAVE to have in your life or the pure mortification of not having what your friends have is a matter of life or death in social circles

Yeah.. we had all our needs met... the wants? We had to get part-time jobs while in school to get those.

Sort:  

Thanks for replying, @goldendawne. I tend to agree with your Dad. Meet needs because they are generally things you need for survival, and take care of wants under special circumstances such as birthdays, and at Christmas (or get a job when you're old enough - as you stated). I guess that education, if deemed a want, would fall into some sort of special-circumstances category whereby it should be a priority because it is important; just not forced or contrived.

I remember asking my mom once when I was 9 or 10 if we were rich or poor (we were probably in the 60th percentile if I had to guess). Her reply was great:

We are blessed; we have enough money to afford everything we need, and most of what we want.

Great attitude that I try and keep today.

That's such a great sentiment from your Mum. I'm going to make sure I remember that for my kids!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63701.54
ETH 3092.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87