Waste Not, Want Not: Utilizing EVERY Piece Of Beef On The Homestead

Last week I shared here my recipe for making my dog's homemade dog food and over the weekend I had to make a new batch and instead of using venison, I decided to use up some the beef short ribs we had in the deep freezer. I had made some short ribs a few months ago, and while they were very tasty, we decided to use another package to make the dog's food this time.

thumbnail.jpg

After I trimmed off the meatiest parts from the bones, I decided not to waste the bones and fat leftover. After a quick inspection of the pantry and refrigerator I discovered I didn't have any fresh carrots or celery on hand, but that didn't detour me on my mission to use up this short rib.

I sliced up two onions and added them to the pan with the water and short ribs and figured even without the vegetables, I could still make-do with some beef broth in the freezer. I had made about a dozen jars two months ago, but in this house, broth goes fast this time of year. Between making stews, soups and other comfort foods as the temperatures drop, I knew it wouldn't hurt to have a few more jars on hand.

I was able to get another eight 1/2 pint jars of beef broth from this leftover short rib and dog food recipe so that pleases me. I know those eight jars will be used up pretty quickly as with the holidays coming, I am constantly making homemade gravy to go with potatoes and stuffing for meals.

Join Us On Discord

Sort:  

Did you know that if you add a small amount of vinegar (I use apple cider vinegar) to the bones, it helps the nutrients leach into the broth? The longer you can cook the bones, the more nutrition the broth has.

Good use of the bones!

I didn't know that about the vinegar!! BUT THANK YOU I will definitely do this the next time I am making some beef/bone broth. Now I want to grab a few more soup bones from the freezer to start to thaw so I can do it with vinegar! lol

And, if you're using tougher cuts of meat for a stew, a good red wine vinegar (and/or red wine) will help both to tenderise the meat and add flavour.

Top tip, thanks! I'm going to try this next time!

Congratulations @goldendawne! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 6750 replies. Your next target is to reach 7000 replies.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Hi @goldendawne!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.776 which ranks you at #1397 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 3 places in the last three days (old rank 1394).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 280 contributions, your post is ranked at #167.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

I see that you use onions which makes sense for the broth, but I thought that onions (and garlic) were a no, no for dogs? Perhaps, though, that's fake news lol

Oh no the pot with the meat bone and onions are for us, not the dog. I cut off the met from the bone to do hers separately.

Oh, sorry. Perhaps I wasn't paying attention :(

Sometimes, I wish you are my neighbour... :)

I used to do this on and off with the leftover roast chickens that we would have. Perhaps with Christmas roasts fast approaching (and the general winter roasts), it would be a good idea to get back into this habit....

howdy again goldendawne! You're always doing an amazing job with everything, the plants, gardening, dog food, herbal preparations, everything! lol. so efficient, great job.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64485.37
ETH 3156.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05