You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Day at the Range

You went to the range with your Steem shirt on. That's hilarious! ;-) Love it. Probably doesn't come as a surprise, but I tend to steer clear of guns. I would love to train with a sword or become proficient in archery, though. I suppose guns are more practical weapons, but they're so loud and... well... violent. Glad you know how to use one. I'll just have you watch my back, and others I know who'd happily join you at the range... @enginewitty @sircork @underground

Sort:  

ole dead eye @sircork hitting it like doc holiday! lol

@katrina-ariel Once in a great while, the only good option is a firearm. I had a man who was off his meds, with a 12 inch hunting knife, out of the sheath, and close to my wife's car door. I had the pistol out and ready, but I managed to talk him down. BUT, the Only way I could stop him, if talking didn't work, was to rush him, and his knife, bare handed, or to stop him with the pistol.

I avoided violence entirely, BECAUSE I had the option of stopping him with minimal risk. I can think of nothing more violent that a 12 inch steel blade, in the hand of a madman!

A firearm is a tool, like a power saw, an axe, a car, or a chainsaw. As with all tools, learn to use that tool, and it is useful. Otherwise you can get hurt! That said, I find a trip to the range, very relaxing; and a good way to spend the afternoon. You might find you enjoy it, ROFLOL!

:)

I agree with you, a firearm is a tool, and it can be one that saves lives or takes them away. Hopefully I never need one. I live in Canada, where I wouldn't be able to carry anyway, but I hear your logic with this story and I'm glad you were able to talk him down. And yes, maybe I'd enjoy going to the range and firing a gun, but... I don't know. For now I'll watch from the safety of behind my computer screen. ;)

Without the option the pistol gave me, I would have been forced to close with a man not in his right mind, and he. or I would be dead. Since I knew I could stop him, and keep her safe, it gave me time to talk to him, and pull him back down from wherever he was. Me carrying a handgun saved at least one life that day!

Be aware, that no matter how good you are, in a blade fight, you will be cut, usually more than once. So if you go that route, be prepared to stop bleeding. You are right, if you decide to do that, get VERY good at it, to stay alive!

A Bow is a serious tool also, and you might look at a wrist rocket slingshot. The other thing to consider, is what they went to in England; a high pressure large bore air rifle is a possible choice. I saw a motor driven, clip fed crossbow on youtube that looked serious. So there are creative options.

That said, go after your politicians to at least allow licensed concealed carry! Or study to be an armed guard...or both.

:)

Already know sweets, maybe I train you to use sone blades or blunts😎

Posted using Partiko Android

That would be fun. Maybe I let you show me how to use a gun a little too... just so I know. But I'm like a doe—I hear gunfire and want to bolt. Something primal, I guess. ;)

Fair enough, get some ear plugs for ya so it's not so loud and scary🤗

Posted using Partiko Android

excellent sir enginewitty!

Your balance is below $0.028. @dustsweeper is now disabled for your account until you transfer new funds. Check out the Dustsweeper FAQ here: https://steemit.com/dustsweeper/@dustsweeper/dustsweeper-faq

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 64215.81
ETH 3150.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86