Weekend Working

in #steemitbloggers6 years ago (edited)


While it is the weekend for most people out there, I am at work. Every other weekend I have to work a 12 hour shift Friday, Saturday, and Sunday. So every other week when everyone else is all "TGIF!!!", I'm suffering from the Mondays! It could be worse, I could be unemployed.

Mid-Week Weekend


The benefit of my schedule is that I only work 15 shifts per month which allows me to have a good amount of off days and many of those days are in the middle of the week so I have the house to myself. This type of schedule is also perfect for juggling a second job and all sorts of other projects I find myself involved with.

For instance, I'm off Monday and Tuesday of this week and then off Friday, Saturday, and Sunday. Monday I have a part-time job lined up and then Tuesday is all for me. Right now it is a toss up of eating cheetos naked on the couch all day or getting some decent writing done......I'm feeling cheetos at the moment, but you never know!

What is you schedule like? Do you love it or hate it? What would you do if you had no schedule whatsoever?!?!

You may also like my recent article about spending time at the gun range!


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://papacrusher.vornix.blog/2018/09/16/weekend-working/


All photos and videos are my own creation unless otherwise noted.

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

themancave


All That Is Gold Does Not Glitter,
Not All Those Who Wander Are Lost
-Tolkien

Sort:  

What a coincidence, I was working this weekend too! I happen to love the schedule especially while on days. Only working half a month leaves a lot of room for other hobbies and interests.

If there were no schedule at all...I would have to travel, learn something new and continue to explore the adventures of photography and writing.

You don't say!?! You had to work this weekend as well? That is odd! lol

Hi @papacrusher!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 2.999 which ranks you at #10093 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 2 places in the last three days (old rank 10095).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 499 contributions, your post is ranked at #152.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Only a few people are following you, try to convince more people with good work.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

What if you could eat cheetos on the couch as a job? If i had no job and all the time in the world and the money to fund it, I would travel around the world snapping photos of everything I could. I would buy some high end camera equipment and just enjoy like. Oh and invest into crypto yes....everyone should invest into crypto and projects :P

What if you could eat cheetos on the couch as a job?

Then, good Sir, I would be a millionaire! I love your idea as well. It would be an eternal travel journey for me also.

Because I am disabled and unable to work my 'schedule' is self-defined. On certain days I make certain themed steemit posts, and I have things I need to do sometime between when I wake up and when I go to bed in a day, but really that's about it. Half the time I just honestly don't know what to do with myself, so I try to take on projects that will keep me busy and doing something I feel is 'productive' to counteract those feelings.

Interesting to hear your perspective of having to find things to fill the space of not having a schedule. I can see myself having issues of being disciplined enough to get things accomplished if left to my own devices.

That was an issue for me at first, but I found myself falling deeper into the pit of depression and anxiety because I felt like I wasn't doing anything worthwhile when all I did was hang out on the internet and watch tv all day long because I can't work and really can't go out for a lot of reasons. But giving myself stuff to do, and imposing the deadlines as well as getting my roommate involved in that so I've got pressure from him to do things really helped a lot and after a while it just became habit.

So making schedules, deadlines, and having accountability all factored into pulling you out of the depression and anxiety? I guess having nothing to do is not the dreamland everyone may think it is. Thanks for sharing your point of view on this!

I wouldn't say they pulled me out, but more just....made things easier. The depression/anxiety combo is a really bad one because the anxiety screams at me to do stuff but the depression makes that really difficult because what's the point? Deadlines and accountability take advantage of my anxiety to override the depression, and then when I'm done the anxiety fades and I'm left feeling at least better than I was before. Better than sitting around doing nothing and having nothing to look forward to, at least.

It's always a good day for Cheetos...

lol yes it is, my friend, yes it is! It's already Monday for you, right?

Yeah, I'm rocking Monday already...Cheetoless...😊

Yeah kind of NOT how you would want to spend a weekend... that's for sure- but as you said.. MUCH better than being unemployed!

Hope when you do have the weekend off you have a tremendous TGIF moment

If I had no schedule? I'd probably do nothing. Then anything I wanted. Look for something fun. Then make sure every lil ting was awlryt :P

Don't worry, about a thing... 'Cause every little thing, gonna be alright. ;)

You feel me😎

Posted using Partiko Android

If i had no schedule i will work that out at that time :)

I really should plan my off days better. I usually wait until it gets here and then I run around like a lost puppy!

Oh dear best make some plans then mate :)

I'm self-employ so I feel like I'm working all week long but also have a lot of free time to go out on the workday when everyone else is at work, what a life...

Can't beat a couch day! Enjoy your days off!
I do shift work that vary from 7 hours, 6 hours and 13 hours, I usually opt for the 13 hour ones lol
I tried cheetos when I went to the US 3 years ago, I wasn't keen lol. I want to like them, perhaps the logic here is to go again and keep trying 😅

Anything worth liking is worth forcing yourself to eat it...lol! Thanks for coming by and commenting!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99