Steemitchurch: Giving to the Needy

in #steemitchurch6 years ago (edited)

offering-427297_1920.jpg
Pixabay

I was walking down the road somedays back and I saw a small boy ran to me and he held my hand and said "Please give me something to eat", I was touched by that statement and I gave him the little change that was on me. That event changed my mood and different questions ran through my head as I thought of the whereabouts of boy's parents, how he lived his life every day? Still on that same day, I saw another boy threw away a snack because his mother didn't feed him herself. How unbalanced our world is!. I don't really know why I saw those events that day but it propelled me to speak about our giving attitude. I may not be able to change the world but I can start with my immediate circle. My immediate circle is YOU, yes you that is reading this post right now and my family and friends.

How Well do you give

image
Source

This is question that we should all answer. Giving is relative,which means your giving does not necessarily have to be money. For example in my case, I could have given the boy food and it would have been better at that moment than money. Have been in this world for quite some time and I have come to realise the saying that "Givers never lack". Also, if you were wronged for doing good, do not let it weigh you because The law of karma still holds even till today. They say "All fingers are not equal" and that is why we must help each other to make this world a better place. In Africa, where I come from, we are really fetish (sorry brothers but it is the truth) and we have seen so many cases of bad things happening to good people that give.

When should you give?

image
Source

Everytime possible. Like I said in the last sentence of the last paragraph, if you have been wronged for giving before, be a little bit selective in giving. So trust your instincts when giving. I do not want to sound religious about giving but I know most religions support giving because it is the basis of humanity. My heart bleeds for those who do not have. We should create a responsibility to help no matter how little. Homeless people are on the rise every day and you have a small building on your backyard, why don't you allow that homeless person live there.

Let's learn to give, its worth it

Sort:  

Touching post.

Giving is the key to success

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 67497.36
ETH 3532.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.19