๐Ÿ’Œ Steemit Comment Challenge #1 - $10(SBD) Giveaway - Comment like a Champ, Grow your blog like a Champ!! In support of #minnowsuppportproject ๐Ÿ’Œ

in #steemitcommentchallenge โ€ข 7 years ago (edited)

Transform your comment into money

In a post the other day I wrote about the importance of writing a godlike introduction post, and how to follow that up with tons and tons of quality comments.ย 

It is important to get followers, but you also want the correct type of followers. Followers that are truly interested in your blog and what you write, and not the โ€œI-follow-you-if-you-follow-meโ€ kind of type. And to get the right type of followers, you need to write godlike comments.

This will be part of my campaign to help other Minnows. The #minnowsupportproject helped me and I want to help others.ย 

Join the challenge and practice your skills.ย 

Please join the fun!

That will be me...

Challenge Instructions

In this initial challenge I want you to write a comment about this challenge itself.ย 

Write a comment that will intrigue the reader. The comment should be interesting and create an urge in the reader to click through to your blog.

Prize

As this is the initial challenge I will contribute 10 SBD from my own funds. For future challenges, earnings from this post and any additional donations will be contributed to the prize pool.

One talented winner will receive the prize money!

Rules and conditionsย 

  • The comment should be relevant to the post content.
  • Entries limited to one per person.
  • Deadline for entry is at the postโ€™s payout.
  • The comment with highest amount of points wins. (See below for calculation)
  • The payout will be limited not to exhaust the prize pool, the idea is to have a growing prize week by week.
  • Next round will be released +/- 2days at the end of the current round.

Calculation of points

Comment votes (Max 30) - Number of votes, limited to max 30 points.

Comment $ upvote (Max $20) - The dollar value rounded up to nearest whole number.

Your reputation will add the following points:

  • <30 = 20 Points
  • 30-39 = 15 Points
  • 40-49 = 10 Points
  • 50-59 = 5 Points
  • >60 = 0 Points

There will be a jury composed of members of #minnowsupportproject or #teamaustralia.
The jury can give up to 20 points. None of the jury members can participate in the challenge.

Example: A comment made by a user with 49 in reputation, that receive 10 votes, a payout of $0.5 and the jury gives it a 10, will get a total score: 10 + 10 + 1 + 10 = 31 points

Future challenges

In future additions I will arrange content written by a fellow minnow and the task will be to comment on that. I will ask for permission to use their content, and as a thanks, I will upvote and resteem their post. It will be another way to provide a helping hand to a fellow minnow.

If you like this idea and would like it to grow. Please feel free to donate and I will add it to the Prize Pool. Mention #steemitcommentchallenge in your memo.

Proud member of #minnowsupportproject & #teamaustralia - Thank you @aggroed, @ausbitbank, @teamsteem, @canadian-coconut and @sirknight
Click HERE to learn more about Minnow Support Project or HERE to connect to our Discord chat server.

TEAM AUSTRALIA - Show the rest of Steemit what you can do!


Sort: ย 

There once was a steemian called Daniel
He went and got drunk with a spaniel
They wound up in bed
With a dancer named Fred
Wearing nothing but pink glittery sandals

I saw it happen

Pure fiction I tell you ๐Ÿ˜‚.
Looking good so far @gmuxx! But will this fall into the taste of the jury... ๐Ÿ˜‰Please spread the word and resteem. I would like to increase the prize for #2. Peace โœŒ๏ธ and Love โค๏ธ

The next morning they awoke in shambles
Fred, in the kitchen making scrambles
When Daniel woke up
He gazed at the Pup
And thought, I wanted just a little sample

Thats catchy!

:D

Thanks for your participation! Challenge #2 is now out. Please give it a shot. Good luck! ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ€
Although, now you are not a minnow but you can still win ๐Ÿ˜‰

First round of the game and comment has to be related to the game. In this sense, I am throwing out comments to the point calculation system.
No much comment to first 2, marks based on vote and $, fair enough.
How to mark for reputation and then by the jury looks to me that quality of comment doesn't really count.
Reason behind: spread of marks for reputation is too wide (max 20) when compared to jury's marks.
For example, a comment from Steemian with reputation of 29 but totally rubbish, worth nothing, will still get the same marks (through rules 3&4) as a perfect comment from a Steemian with 61 reputation.
Let's give it a try and improve the calculation rule in next round.

why people vote a 29rep's rubbish comment

That's just a very exaggerated example. Yes, if a comment is totally rubbish, there supposing will have Zero vote and this comment lost 30 points already, and so will be the $ part. Of course, even rubbish will have votes, friends of the author may vote for him with looking at what the comment is, for example.

Valid points and adjustments might be needed. Initial idea was to encourage minnows and give them an advantage while not preventing anyone from participating.

ย 7 years agoย (edited)

To be a champion, I think you have to see the big picture. It's not about winning and losing; it's about every day hard work and about thriving on a challenge. It's about embracing the pain that you'll experience at the end of a race and not being afraid. I think people think too hard and get afraid of a certain challenge.
By Summer Sanders Brainquotes

I wanted to write about being a champ because you mentioned it. I couldnt beat this one above soo i copied & pasted...

At least you have a massive amount of votes! You try to take on @gmuxx.
Please spread the word and resteem. I would like to increase the prize for #2. Peace โœŒ๏ธ and Love โค๏ธ

ย 7 years agoย (edited)

I thought i did resteem, done now none the less. Notice i voted for Gmuxx too. BEST BY FAR!!!! i was just first, thats all

Thanks for your participation! Challenge #2 is now out. Please give it a shot. Good luck! ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ€

Loading...

A most excellent contest I accept...

As in life so to is Steemit in the sense that...

Don't limit your challenges,
CHALLENGE your limits.

If you do good things you tell people... When you do great things people tell you--- Walter Payton
(Watch video to it's entirety) Click on Watch on Youtube.

follow mithrilweed.png

Thanks for your excellent entry!
Now get your friends over to collect some upvotes. ๐Ÿ˜€

Supported

Thanks for your participation! Challenge #2 is now out. Please give it a shot. Good luck! ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ€

"Follow me and I'll follow you"

Seriously though. Follower count is a useless statistic, for the most part, you have no way of knowing what sort of people are following you. I'd rather have 10 followers that read my posts, comment, upvote, interact... than 10'000 followers that never look at anything I write.

I recently celebrated my follower count hitting the lofty heights of 50 but in hindsight, I think I'd rather go back through my posts and count the comments, celebrate those milestones instead.

It certainly is an issue with the platform. Mutual upvoting, mutual following. Upvoting content because you think it will go viral, not because YOU like it, just for the curation payout.

Give me a commenter any day over a follower!

That said... I will follow you, but before you even dare think of following me, read my wall, decide whether you will actually read my posts again or will they just clog up your wall.

Be a smart follower, not a fart swallower!

6 days to go! You can still make it. And remember, the jury might be on your side. ๐Ÿ˜‰
Please spread the word and resteem. I would like to increase the prize for #2. Peace โœŒ๏ธ and Love โค๏ธ

Are you one of those? One of those that decide on who will follow you? No no nonooo, I assumed nobody like that existed.
The real problem to address here is the feed system, I like to have lots of content to randomly look through when I can, I don't at this point. As a content creator having tons of time just to look at posts isn't possible, but we may see some content, never all of it, I would rather have a big feed number at this point in Steemit's lifecycle,
So when I see 200-400 feeds up I know that most of who I follow are active...with this feed system, no grid, no following list of active creators listed, it will be very tough to look for JUST YOU, but I did follow you, and I hope we get to see your content! I do follow my followers!
Although after 7 days, your content is dead....here..thats another subject for another comment..later.

Steemit needs to keep old content alive. Take an adventure @laurtanton.

Was this just a comment to @stormriderstudio as it was below his comment, or do you want to enter in the challenge with it? :)

hmm, I think with the amount of comments you have, this meager attempt at portraying my thoughts is not going to win anything, but thanks for the reply, its ok, this was a real reply back to him, but since the blog was about comments, i'd figure too make it a longer type^^ thank you! It's a really cool contest, It should be a great addition to Steemit! I don't think you should enter this into the contest, because its a reply to a contest person? later. If I get time I'll enter one! I did upvote his post, @stormriderstudio's comment did make me comment back^^

Great comment

Follow me? I'll follow you :D

ย 7 years agoย (edited)

Hey i followed you,, please return the favor? Upvote for upvote...resteem for resteem?

M'kay

DoNe!

Thanks for your participation! Challenge #2 is now out. Please give it a shot. Good luck! ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ€

What a great way to get people to comment on post with something other than 'I like you. I like your post. Please up vote this post................." @aggroed posted a story about a guy who didn't post on SteemIT for 2 months. He just sifted through the stories and commented on post he liked and felt had relevance to him. After 2 months he had 200 followers. Followers who he wanted and who he knew he would be interested in. Initially I followed some people because I didn't know any better. After they continually posted youtube videos and short commentaries on content they never created, I had to unfollow them to free up my feed from 'garbage' like gaming screenshots.

I think this is the importance of making substantial comments and investing in the time to read something you are interested in. Some authors spend hours writing stories and creating content, only to receive the 'follow me, I follow you' comments and no significant commentary. To build the platform and the community, we need to leave constructive comments where it is warranted. Thanks for starting this conversation!

Nice one! I will follow you. ๐Ÿ˜‰
Please spread the word and resteem. I would like to increase the prize for #2. Peace โœŒ๏ธ and Love โค๏ธ

Why not mute them rather than unfollow? Isn't that what mute is for? (True question, not an argument I really am curious about the answer)

Oh cancel that I tried it and kind of blocks that person and automatically unfollows.
moving on to read the rest of the comments

Thanks for your participation! Challenge #2 is now out. Please give it a shot. Good luck! ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ€

you know who else created a legion of minnows towards world domination?

well, you definitely won't find that on my blog, but what you will find or hell i'll flat out tell you so you don't even have to click through...you WILL find a way to differentiate yourself as a thoughtleader using non-traditional methods to rise to the top instead of swimming with a school of millions of minnows. because steve jobs, bill gates, elon musk, and all of THE BEST definitely just did the same thing everyone else was doing.

Thanks for your entry! Now get someone to click that upvote button of yours. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Thanks for your participation! Challenge #2 is now out. Please give it a shot. Good luck! ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ€

There was a challenge, a challenge so difficulty that it involved being creative, so creative that i didn't think i had it in me to make the best comment of them all. I had to be so creative and smart about it. I thought to myself is it even possible, really is it possible to so creative and smart? Until i did, i found it i found the best comment. One that would challenge the world in ways no man has even seen before. "Followed and Up-voted, follow me back?" and there it was so majestic like nothing i ever seen, like a unicorn so sparky it burned to watch it, blossom into a comment that would surprise the world!
Follow me - @surprisebit

Thank you! Now chase those upvotes

Thanks for your participation! Challenge #2 is now out. Please give it a shot. Good luck! ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ€

Steemit is a peculiar platform. It tends to support big names and certain topics. It has the right to do so to grow and attract more people to itself. Yet it cannot grow big enough if it eventually does not support the rest of us.
For the new ones , be patient and be who you are. Don't chase numbers before you understand yourself. In the beginning there is a lot of self discovery. Know yourself first and then you will find your place on the platform. You may not make thousands per post if you are not a big name elsewhere. But this could become your first platform from where your name gets known. Be honest , be original, be yourself .
Comment frequently but only positively. Negative comments will not help you or the community. Be thoughtful in your comments. Also be kind and you will make friends. That is the key. Friends are your life power and way more important than steem power. Focus on developing positive friendships and when you look back you won't regret what's in your wallet.
I wish you wisdom , knowledge and enlightenment.

Live up to that my dear minnow friend! Now go out and bring you some upvotes for this comment. $10 SBD could be yours!
Please spread the word and resteem. I would like to increase the prize for #2. Peace โœŒ๏ธ and Love โค๏ธ

Thanks for your participation! Challenge #2 is now out. Please give it a shot. Good luck! ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ€

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67598.23
ETH 3714.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71