Progress: Keeping The Steemit Community Strong (And What To Do When It Needs Attention).

()
I want to talk about progress.

{But first, Jesus that is one picture I probably shouldn't show the light of day again.}

In our universe, entropy (i.e. disorder) is ever increasing- shits’ getting more fucked all the time. Welcome to Earth friends! With that statement of fact stems a few interesting hypotheticals: how do we deal with it: Do we try to contain it? Do we work within the bounds and make the best of it? Is there a way to leverage this into more powerful, controlled forms of disarray? I tend to think so, hopefully you’ll see why soon.

Progress, however small and incremental, is the lifeblood of any organized system. Without it, the basic fundamental building blocks crumble, completely meaningless. But with it, great things are accomplished. My favorite podcaster (and personal idol) Joe Rogan is fond of asking, “If i were to drop you into a forest with a knife and flint, how long before you send me an e-mail?”
I love that thought experiment because it shows how damn far we’ve come already, at least from an evolutionary perspective.

I am constantly trying to move forward. It’s a complete waste of time, in my mind, to dwell on events or decisions that have already occurred. Sure, there is something to be said about learning from mistakes, but at the end of the day I need to be able to answer one question: what am I going to change to make sure x doesn’t happen again? The intent is to tease out the optimal process; the one yielding the best results in the most efficient manner.

Editor’s Note: If you hate that I use these ambiguous words like efficient and process I don’t blame you. My brother and friends do as well; bear with me, I don’t mean to sound like just another EY management consultant. I prefer to define my terms as needed.

Why bring this up here? Because Steemit represents progress. It is the next iteration of something that, by many measures, has already been perfected. It hasn’t. If you haven’t already seen my introduction video, watch it here (probably could have been more optimistic). This community needs to be fostered, grown organically, and hold close the values that to this point have made it appealing to the masses all over the world- transparent and democratic dispersion of user-created content.

I say that because early on I have seen some Steemians falsely believe this is the next great arena to unleash their viral marketing and advertising campaigns in the hopes of new revenue streams and a source of easy profit. Let me make this extremely clear: This is not the place for shameless self-promotion. This is a community of people all over the globe, who choose to be here to feel like they are in a cool new place. If you find that people value your content and seek it out, that is excellent. That’s exactly the purpose of a decentralized social media. That should not be the primary motivator of any individual joining Steemit. If it is, I assure you Steemians will recognize it and not fail to do something to correct it. By no means do I want this to come off as vindictive or authoritarian, mainly because I have confidence in my peers to act as white blood cells and surround the problem area and course correct.

My intent is pure. I do not want to lose the novelty of it all, not this early on at-least. If I’m off base, or misconstrued as to the direction that the greater Steemian community wishes to push this magnificent ship in, please let me know. I want the comments section of this post to serve as a sounding board for what you 1) think of my tone in this post, and 2) what your personal thoughts are on these types of content producers and whether they should be treated equally or not. You know where I stand.

As with anything I do, appreciate ya for taking the time!

No other social media links: that's weird man.

Upvote Follow Resteem
.
.
.
And if anyone has a good website or way to put that into a gif or image , please let me know. Giphy doesn't work out towel.

Sort:  

A tad verbose- that will be minimized in the future 😁

Nice post anth.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65852.33
ETH 2958.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73