Logbook for solving Steemit Crypto Challenge #14

Day 1 It got announced, TImsaid posted the #14 Crypto challenge. And I decided to give it a try. After fiddling around with basically no prior knowledge in this area, Tim(said)  Pun intended, That he suggests me joining the channel on stemmit.chat for the crypto challenge. And so I did. After getting there I said hello and asked people what they had accomplished so far. I got some answers of what they had tried. We chatted around, brainstormed etc for at least an hour id say. And then, Suddenly timsaid quoted one of the things I had mentioned with the response "Yes". Imagine my excitement. I really didn't know what I was doing and I realized I was on to something. So research followed and I suggested things for people to try. With the hint "RGBRGBRGB" I figured that we needed to extract RGB color code from the hint image and we did. We tried to enter the RGB codes of the colors and after trial and error time posted the raw PSD file so we could get the actual color codes (In the post) So we got it and we entered 2550021255214242221, it didn't decrypt. so we tried reshaping the numbers but tim started saying test this link instead and did that a few times eventually he got it working (it had been an error on his part @timsaid) We entered it and it decrypted. It gave us a link the link led to a downloadable RAR file called "WINSOONWIN.rar" We extracted a png from it and that's when I went off.



Day 2. I have been fiddling around with the png. have been looking at it in Hexeditor And just finished a file carving in XnView. No luck so far. Except, I did find something interesting in the hex code There's a bit that in ASCII Says "Ryiay2.8gq" Which seems like there's a picture file inside hidden. (As far as I'm concerned this probably was nothing)'


day 5 ish. New hint. new attempt. Succeded. Mobilefish decryption with covertsecret

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------



I know the solving was short on day 5 but I actually don't think that anyone wants to know every pass I tested etc

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I will probably make a logbook like post for the next challenge too :)

Sort:  

Heyy good job, I doubt I would have ever figured that out lol :) This reminds me of the Decred puzzles done by coin_artist. Have you ever seen one??
https://twitter.com/coin_artist
https://www.exodus.io/decred/

Congratulations @jeppex1! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69386.82
ETH 3714.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85