You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 10 Reasons Why I've Quit Teaching

in #steemiteducation6 years ago

I love a little tense wandering 😁

and this is one of the things I like about steemit: you can play and evolve things as they develop, and people generally go along with it.

Commonly referred to as Steemit syndrome by osm0sis. People forget what was said yesterday so I think st '4 months ago' you are pretty safe!

Despite never tracking, I worked in slackerdemia for 15 or so years and heard many of the above gripes and well, facts from colleagues.

For what it's worth, your employers sound like they are losing one of the good ones.

Welcome to Blockchain hippy stardom 😁

Sort:  

I think a lot of the above does apply to Higher Ed too, there's quite a few left-leaning sociologists of education writing about it (as you can imagine). Stephen Ball's probably the most famous.

That's a nice theory by @osmosis, but don't people actually have to read something first in order to be able to forget it? As a general rule, people reading what I write is a problem I don't suffer from on steemit. There's the occasional exception of course!

I used to be good, now I'm jaded, definitely time to move on!

I've spawned a few trainees in my time, so everything'll be in good hands and I'm very much looking forward to NOT having an employer... funny I was just thinking what a radical way of distributing money steemit is, in comparison to working for someone else, or even for yourself (inequality/ injustice issues aside for the moment.).

Cheers for the comment, appreciated!

but don't people actually have to read something first in order to be able to forget it?

Cynical. But yes, they do :)

I'm looking forward to you becoming 'free', and having been thinking of collecting a group of blockchain reprobates who are trying to survive without working for some one, or some thing else.

If you spot someone wandering around, holes in jeans and unclean shaven perhaps, let me know :)

I'm looking forward to me becoming free too, or rather dependent on more precarious income streams. Apparently I just missed an escape to wild programme featuring a guy who makes a living foraging and brewing beer, sounds wonderful.

I'll keep an eye out, but there aren't too many of those in Surrey!

precarious income streams

Indeed. But what the hell, I'm up for giving it a go. I've been very lucky thus far, and I'm trying to share that with as many decent folk as I can find.

I do need more nature and beer in my life, that does sound like good fun.

I'm feeling fairly optimistic ATM!

Did you see @Ned on Bloomberg? - https://www.bloomberg.com/news/videos/2018-05-07/steemit-1st-social-media-platform-built-on-top-of-a-blockchain-video

They actually raise the question of low quality content hitting the top of the trending pages... he's clearly thinking something's got to change....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 56858.44
ETH 2919.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60