You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why being political is a very personal thing. The story of the Russian Germans - from my family's point of view. Part one.

in #steemiteducation6 years ago

It's a fascinating and moving story, but also has some great lessons for readers, I think. The best is the one you elucidate: have patience with your family, try to understand them at least as much as you want them to understand you.
The second important lesson is that we should never forget that war does not spare individuals. It has an insatiable appetite for misery. And, when we regard people as tools of an ideology we are inevitably agents of injustice.
I do look forward to reading more.

Sort:  

Oh, how good that you point this out to me. I wondered if someone will take this part into consideration. War starts in the family, sadly. When disturbances are not worked on and only compensated into the outer world, people fall easily for ideologies. Mostly, it's the father's or mother's fault - which is a tragedy because than you must go back to the first man on earth as it's always the parents. Guilt finding is not constructive, I'd say.

Yes, never take people as chess figures on a board.

I hope I can start the second part soon.
Where are you from, may I ask?

Guilt-finding is not constructive--very, very true. If we were honest, we'd have to look to ourselves as much as anyone else. Give us enough time, and we all make mistakes.
I come from New York, USA, but I've always tried to have a more global perspective than my little corner of the universe. After a while, patterns become evident across cultures. You capture that in your piece. There were echoes of other descriptions I've read about the chaos of war and the hammer of rigid ideology.
I look forward to reading the second part, when you are ready to write that.

There are thousands of miles between us. How good that we have a meeting room here.

Yes, things are repeating themselves and will continue to do so. Man struggles with not knowing exactly what his fate and what his own doing is. In the loop of events, we are dealing with delays and the effects of past decisions, which are still in progress, while constantly new conditions and circumstances arise. To look at reality and not to be frightened or misled about it is something one should learn.

I am pleased to meet many here who are not disconcerted by the cacophony of something that wants to revolve around something.

Nice, to got in touch with you!

Oh, yes. The best part of Steemit, I have discovered. Nice to meet you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60166.58
ETH 2964.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79