Do not judge too quickly - A story with a lesson

in #steemiteducation5 years ago

The boy looked at me with a defiant expression in his eyes and on his face.  Earlier years I would have given him a hiding, and he would have told the truth very quickly, but unfortunately this is not allowed any more.

                              

image source

Benny has been labeled as a 'problem child'.  Not only by his peers but also by all the teachers.  He is now in his third school for the year and I know that his situation at home is also not a happy one.  He has also been with two other teachers in their class, but the decided they could not handle him and he ended up with me.

"I did not open the cage, it is not my fault Hammy the Hamster is gone.  I do not care what you say or do, it was not me." he shouts.

This morning during the first period, one of the 'goody two shoes' came to me in tears, pointing out that the hamster was gone and also pointed out very quickly "It was Benny.  I saw him at the cage this morning."


Benny looks me straight in the eyes without blinking and I feel a kind of helplessness creep up on me.  He is hard headed, but I also can not help to feel sorry for him.  He is a product of his situation.  His sad sad situation at home.  His dad has lost his job and they have been moving around a lot.  His dad is also known for drinking too much and getting violent.

I do not have time to waste on this any more and while the little girls are huddled together, squeezing out tears and moaning, I tell the class "We need to carry on with our work.  I will sort this out later."

I wonder if this is a suitable time to discuss the loss of people and animals, but decide against it and start handing out the Maths worksheets.

I struggle through the day and try and ignore any remarks about the hamster or towards Benny.

I would like to believe him, but his track record of getting into fights and not doing his work, tend to send me in the opposite direction.  I do not like to judge people but what do they say?  'Past behavior predicts future behavior'.

At last the day is over and the kids leave.  I sit at my desk marking books, before I also go home.  I hear the door open and when I look up I see Benny standing there.  He looks so small and innocent.

"It was really not my fault teacher.  This morning I just checked to see if Hammy had food and water and he was still in his cage.  I have been feeding him every day and I love him.  I will never forget to close the cage."

I feel something stir inside of me and for once I look pass the rebellious side of Benny.  I see a sincere little boy and my heart goes out to him.  I am sure that if he gets more attention, he will flourish.  How terrible must it be to always be mistrusted, pushed aside and labeled as the 'black sheep', just to go home from school and get the same treatment.  Never feeling that you are worth something.

"Let me have a look at the cage,"  I tell Benny.

Why did I not think of this earlier?  In the corner at the back there is a hole.  Big enough for 'Mr Escape Artist' to get through.  My husband told me that a cage made of wood was not a good idea.

"Benny look at this.  The naughty little hamster escaped."

Benny's face lights up as he says "I told you it wasn't me.  He must be here somewhere, the door of the class was closed the whole day."

We start searching all over the class.  Under every desk and chair.  We even look under the carpet.  I see the storeroom door is open and I know there is a lot of paper and old magazines stored in there.

"Well what do you know.." I hear Benny call.  "Look at this.  Hammy made himself a nest in the books." 

            

image source

Benny laughs and picks up the hamster.  "You are very naughty and gave me a huge fright."  

I can hear the love in his voice.

"I think we need to go and buy Hammy a steel cage that he cannot escape again.  But first I think you deserve a gold star for looking after Hammy and finding him again.  Thank you Benny.  I could not have done it without you."

The little face lights up when I put the gold star on his forehead.  This must be the first star he has ever received.

"I am making you the official care taker of Hammy and only you will look after him since you have done such a good job so far."

Words can not describe the joy that I saw in Benny's eyes that day.  And while he ran out of class and I could hear him sing all the way down the hallway, I could also not help to feel guilty.

Guilty for listening to other people and being part of the 'judging a book by it's cover.'

That day changed Benny's life and attitude, but it also taught me a valuable lesson....

 

                                    


Sort:  

I loved reading this and such a valuable lesson of not putting people into boxes or making a judgment from previous behaviors. What a beautifully written piece! You should share this at the next #PYPT hosted by @shadowspup to give it more exposure and you can also get some bonus SHADE tokens.

Thank you very much

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 17 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 4 SBD worth and should receive 140 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99