Panic!!!!

From my last article:

https://steemit.com/steemiteducation/@allandharvey/young-hurts

The train jerked forward. The shrill hooter sounded. I knew what this meant and I panicked. The train was leaving, and my father was nowhere to be seen. The train moved slowly and judging by the look on my step-mother's face, I knew we had similar thoughts, my father was not coming back.

Abandonment! Panic! Shock! Trapped! Terrified! Frightened!

The sense of loss was too much for my juvenile mind. I could not comprehend my life without my father, let alone with this strange woman.

Almost immediately, as the train started to move, my father walked into the compartment holding the newspaper he had gone to buy.

Life-defining moments leave an indelible impression in our lives. This incident did both emotionally and mentally. Even today some 63 years later I experience a similar sense of loss, to what I experienced when my Dad got off that train. I have had to say goodbye to my children on their journey of life to some distant place. It hurts, as it does when I watch a movie of families and friends re-uniting with or departing from each other, a child or parent in distress, it is almost as though I am reliving that moment 'abandoned and alone' in quiet deserted train compartment so many years ago.

And so it is with life-defining moments.

I enjoyed reading this writers' perspective on life-defining moments.

https://thoughtcatalog.com/cody-delistraty/2013/09/7-little-moments-that-define-our-lives/

Sort:  

Congratulations @allandharvey! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62872.85
ETH 3031.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.92