My Relationship With Laziness

in #steemiteducation6 years ago

I grew up in an environment where I was constantly called lazy. Ever since my primary school days, my teacher, nay, my teachers have never ceased to label me that everyday. I all starts with one homework that you have missed and very soon, the whole horde of teachers will start labeling you as that lazy student.


Image source

You must think that my school is a pretty brutal and unforgiving place. It is (still a present tense and not a past tense). My school's motto was 'work hard without rest' and man did they take their motto seriously. Everyday, we were given at least two homework for each subject. That's a total of at least 5 homework a day. What's worse, there are a few exceptional students in the classroom who are able to complete all ten tasks, which leaves the mediocre ones like me to have difficulty in achieving so.

Thus, day in and day out, I was labelled as 'that lazy kid'. It wasn't long before laziness became my friend.

Our Relationship

Honestly, I did not want laziness to be my friend, we just ended up together. Laziness became like that friend who always got into trouble with you. Almost everyday of the week, we (or rather I) were always punished together. Back in the day, punishment was creative. There was no oversight and the teachers could use whatever punishment that they saw fit in the class.

I had a friend who was dragged out of the classroom, forced to stand in the rubbish bin while holding a piece of paper saying 'I am a lazy piece of trash'. I was lucky to not be punished in that manner. My punishment includes the half squat torture. Its a rather creative punishment, so here's how it works. Say you had a spelling test and you had to spell a total of 20 words correctly. Now, assuming you had 1 mistake, that's 5 minutes of half squats. Now if you had 2, that's 10 minutes. If you had 20 mistakes, well, you get the picture... But wait! There's more! You had to hold a chair above your head while doing those half squats.


Image source

It won't be long before your legs turn to jelly and you start sweating profusely. Of course, there are less creative punishment which involves the cane. Don't worry, its only made out of thin but strong wood known as rattan. This was the weapon of choice by many teachers and when a teacher swings it, it makes a whooshing sound that signals the impending pain that accompanies it.

Those were the shared memories that I had with laziness and though I may sound ok now, I was deeply scarred by my teachers. But, who cares about teachers anyway? It was disappointing my parents that made me want to break up with laziness.

I Wanted To Breakup

Laziness was part of me and if I could I wanted to cut it out. I wanted so badly to not disappoint my parents and I thought getting rid of laziness was the best way. So, I set out to get rid of laziness. I started giving laziness the cold shoulder to laziness. Whenever I was given a homework to do, I would hear laziness's whispers to just forget about it. The whispers, tempting they may be were ignored from here and forth. I was determined to change and I vowed to myself that I would do my best.

The problem was that the label stuck. I was still that lazy kid no matter how much I wanted to break up with laziness. After months of trying, I could not breakup with laziness. Whether I liked it or not, laziness was here to stay. It hounded me in my every school homework and studying session. I grew increasingly stressed until I discovered that maybe, just maybe, I did not have to get rid of laziness after all.


Image source

Since getting rid of the impossible is, impossible, perhaps then I should consider the improbable, I could just embrace laziness.

The Revelation

The revelation came when I first considered when after trying to complete my tasks for the longest time, laziness visited me and suggested a few shortcuts. Laziness, the part of me which I have ignored for the longest time suggested that I could work together with my friends to complete the tasks. I called up some of my friends and together we completed all the work that was given.

This made me wonder, perhaps I could work together with laziness and achieve better academic success. I started doing less and engaging with friends more. We worked together to complete the demanding school work. I also started looking for shortcuts and patterns in exam questions. It was fairly easy to predict certain questions. With the help of laziness, I stopped having to study the entire textbook but only parts and portions that I thought would come out in the exams.


Image source

It was after many years of working with laziness that I realize that what I thought was laziness, was not laziness at all. Laziness in excess would be bad for any student. However, with the right amount, laziness becomes a form of working smart. It is through this that we would learn how to eliminate the tasks that are unnecessary. It is through this that I have learnt how to learn and complete more with as little energy as possible.

Thus, I changed the name of laziness to working smart. Working smart and I have since had a great working relationship and it has helped me in the toughest and most stressful situations in my life.

How about you? Was laziness a good friend of yours? Do let me know in the comments below.


follow_alvinauh.gif

Sort:  

Laziness is my best friend! Bill Gates once said, that he would prefer a lazy employee, because of his laziness, he would always find the easiest way to solve a problem.
I love to find easy solutions, that require the fewest amount of work. If it's not easy, it's not intelligent enough. There is always room for more laziness! ❤️

Did he really said it??

Bill Gates once said, that he would prefer a lazy employee, because of his laziness, he would always find the easiest way to solve a problem.

Their workplace must be a haven for lazy people. LOL

Working smart, indeed. I did not go to a demanding school (before university), but was loaded with what I considered to be meaningless assignments. So much of the work was redundant--not only that, it robbed me of precious time, my time, to do what I found important. There were no canes or squats awaiting the recalcitrant student--just points subtracted from a grade and disapproving frowns. That was fine with me. I think I used my time wisely. Those assignments that had value, I completed. Otherwise I read a book, generally. This usually was far more educational than the repetitive work teachers assigned.
I don't recommend this course for everyone. Sometimes, repetition and practice are good, but I don't think it should ever steal precious time from childhood, and I don't think it should deprive students of quiet time to reflect and be creative.
I applaud your declaration of freedom from grunt work. It probably was prelude to a lifetime of independent thinking and action.

"Repeat a lie many times and, in saying so much, it will become a truth. " That's what happened with you and with many students that the teachers tagged them in. In my class I used to have a sign that said:

To avoid the problem, all my students were smart.
My partner more than laziness was for stage fright.

You've been upvoted by TeamMalaysia Community :-

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Really well written . I like how you talked about this relationship to the point of its evolution.

Yes I believe I had a similar label. It sure gets you working smart faster than any quick study tips.

Unfortunately, the biggest motivator, especially in our younger days is this fear or punishment or disappointment. As an adult I had to take a real hard look at these behavioural motivators....and I still do to this day.

Working smart is a great skill to have, another one I wish the younger generation can learn is some internal regulation and find a healthy motivator.

Thank you for sharing Alvin.

Teachers do not always succeed in cataloging a lazy student, sometimes the problem is in the teaching methods. It is very delicate to qualify a student of something (regardless of the label that is) since this can mark him for life. you were smart and you knew how to handle the situation facing it and instead of being frustrated you were able to do your job in a more intelligent way. Thank you for sharing your story many will feel identified and will help them. Greetings @alvinauh

Excellent article @alvinauh, we all know that feeling: we have a lot of work to do but suddenly we feel lazy. Laziness is the mental state of a person who lacks energy and / or desire to perform tasks, thank God I have never been identified as lazy, Thank you for your wisdom God bless you.

Regards ...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 63041.44
ETH 2985.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61