Mission Impossible - A father on a bargain hunt

Mission Impossible - A father on a bargain hunt

Children are an expensive pleasure. We all know that. And so everyone is happy if he can do one or two bargains. That this is not always easy, tells the following story ...


69kkf3hbri.png


Jogging suit, size 86/92, available in red / black or black / gray, CHEAP !!!

This was the advertisement in the advertising brochure of a large discounter, which my wife pushed into my hand on Sunday evening. "We should get that for our child! It's really cheap - and of good quality too! "She exclaimed enthusiastically from the kitchen. "Sure, why not?" I replied without looking up from the newspaper.

But now she became more concrete. "Can you get that tomorrow?"

Aha. So I. Is not it a phenomenon that women always say WE when they mean only us men ? Anyway, I agreed. I do everything for my children, so I agreed to come over on Monday morning.

"Not in the morning. You have to be there early. Otherwise, they are all gone. "She taught me in a tone that did not allow a contradiction. I tried it anyway and referred to the last page of the prospectus. It read that the goods should last for at least three days. "Trust me!" She replied casually and played with it the last trump in our partnership double head game.

A good man should also listen to his wife once. And that's especially true when the words "trust me!" Fall. So I set off the next morning - the wrong expression would certainly be in a good mood. I had no doubt about getting the jogging suit. Rather, I was worried about having to choose between the advertised color combinations and possibly make the wrong decision from the oversupply.

The arrival

To my surprise, I was not completely alone at this early hour. About 20 people, mostly women, stood in front of the entrance, strung like pearls on a string. Inexperienced in terms of bargain hunting, I did not turn on, but initially watched the hustle and bustle from the side.

At the front were the pros, equipped with huge shopping bags and even bigger trolleys. Behind, with a nervous look, the businesswoman. Handbag in the arm, mobile phone in hand and a steady view of the clock. Sure, the work is calling. I know that. I have enough to do now. Behind it ..., oh let's leave that ... In short, it was an illustrious cross section of the female population of Germany of childbearing age.

The snake grew and with it my concern to have already made a decisive mistake. I finally lined up behind and lost about 15 valuable starting places. My inner voice told me, "Go again! Give up, you've already lost! "But I'm a man. And no guy just gives up like that. Certainly not when he is traveling for the sake of his son.

Two minutes, a glance at the clock told me. I saw the triumphant looks of the people in the front, who looked around again and again. Haha, it was worth it that I've been here since midnight, they seemed to think. I did not see any tents or sleeping bags though.

The opening

Finally! The gates to the holy discount temple opened. The caravan is set in motion. Caravan? No, quite wrong, a caravan is slow - hunted buffalo herd is more appropriate. The big race for the special offers had begun.

Prompt, it came to dissolution phenomena in the once ordered series, including first position changes. Of course, the shopping trolleys in the entrance area were ignored. Only a well-dressed woman used this tool. From the corner of my eye I saw that. Great, a potential opponent less! Either she had no children or she was a bloody amateur on the bargain front.

Interestingly enough, it was exactly the people who were initially offside, but still in a good position to the entrance and loudly proclaimed that they would only bring fast bread, were suddenly found at the front. A perfect deception maneuver! THAT are the real bargain professionals! True to the motto: "Oh, look, today's also jogging suits ..." They are usually the first in the coveted place. But I digress - back to the storm on the special offers.

The good old Knigge along with his manners had served his time at this moment. Here is not the age and certainly not the beauty. It only counts: who is first?

Physical shortcomings were compensated by good local knowledge. It would not surprise me if some people worked out precise plans at home to explore the shortest way possible. However - it is actually completely unnecessary to know where the special offers are located. You are carried on the wave of greed and simply carried away in the stream of bargain hunters.

The people with a close combat training were clearly in the advantage. Because they were able to make up some places in this way and hurl some weaker in the fruit and vegetable department. I forgot my good education for a moment and did not help the young woman in front of me out of the tomatoes. I was still hoping and did not want to lose any more seats. Finally, I had a mission to fulfill.


30bpk6d0n9.gif

The bargain stand

Strategically located in the back of the shop was the place of desire. I could not see him exactly, because a huge crowd of people was already besieging the state. Like a swarm of locusts - only a little more greedy and much more dangerous.
The first tore everything, but really everything, in itself. With an arm movement, all the greats were taken in, which were somehow tangible. Even those who had only one toddler own had at first the whole range of adolescents in hand. About half a minute lasted the spectacle.

"They're just like the lunatics here!", "Pointless!" And a whole series of other unprintable sentences were coming to my ears. The anger at the discounter mingled with the anger on the winners.
Nevertheless, there was one last chance: the return goods! Because no one needs ten jogging suits at once.
It was not long before the lucky winners saw the goods with a trained eye and sorted out useless sizes. Meanwhile, like the vultures, the losers were waiting for bargains. Well knowing: There are a few leftovers left!
Casual, thrown from less than two feet away, came the coveted pieces flown. They did not touch the shelf. No, already in the flight the leisure tricot days were intercepted and examined for usability. Again, physical robustness was again beneficial. Now only the law of the fittest counts. Who missed this last chance, for it was called: Rien ne va plus - Nothing works!

Of course, I had nothing to do with the outcome of the big race. Starting number 34 was too unfavorable starting point. Only a jogging suit (size 116/128) smiled at me after the dust had settled, still from the otherwise yawning empty goods carrier. Plus a tattered packaging.
It would probably have brought me only a call of a bomb alarm or the start of the local sprinkler system shortly before the opening of the store a little closer to my goal. Although, I'm sure I'm not there.

Operational withdrawal

It was followed by disappointed mobile phone calls of those who had gone out empty. Apparently with friends and relatives who were also operating in other branches.
I'm really mistaken, as Ware, which is supposed to last for at least three days, disappears in the first three minutes. The prospectuses should be clearly amended in this regard. In addition, perhaps the following note: Purchase at your own risk! Always wear protective clothing!

I was faced with a choice, angry, to have a defeat richer in life, to leave the shop or to keep my composure and not to let it show my disappointment. I decided on the second variant, grabbed a carton of milk and went to the cashier. And here it got really hot again.
Do you know the bullfighting in Pamplona? Where tourists and locals are pursued by bulls through narrow streets? This is probably not half as dangerous as the angry German housewife who rolls empty-handed, through a tiny cash register area, without the coveted Monday bargain.

And then I saw YOU: The woman who decided at the beginning as the only one for the shopping cart, just said goodbye to a saleswoman. I could not believe my eyes:
She had MY jogging suit in the shopping cart! Right size - right color.
Well, relationships are valuable in life, even at the discount store around the corner.

I looked at the lady with a mixture of admiration, but much more contempt. She had not taken the fight, but chose a sneaky way. Lousy snake! The woman ignored me, but was already browsing through the next prospectus. Probably to give up the next order.

When I got home, I told my wife about the incredible happenings - ready to work my traumatic experience together with her.
Although I've got the best wife and mother of all, she's not a good psychologist. Her dry comment was simply, "I did not expect it anyway." She smiled at me and said, "Well, now you have seen for yourself what I have to go through sometimes."
She was right. A "high!" On the moms who have to assert themselves daily in the urban jungle to get the best and sometimes the cheapest for their family.
"Next time I prefer to go myself again ..." she called after me, as I made my way to my study to at least hold this story for posterity.

On my desk was still the brochure of the discounter. "The purchase would be worthwhile" was there in large letters. They could not have meant that to me. At least not on this day.


2b5t90azo8.png


Did I forget something? Can you think of any more points?
I´m looking forward to your experiences and additions.

69kkf3hbri.png

2b5t90azo8.png

Other Dad-Chronicals Stories


45 Theses - How Your Life Will Change Through a Child

sleep in on weekends

Murphy´s Law for Parents...

Mood seismograph child - Look at your child and you know how you feel

1,2,3 siblings are not same...

Celebrating NEW YEARS EVE

How the relationship with own parents changes with children

Christmas as a divorced father

Christmas: family tradition, educational weapon and love everywhere

Children and Gratitude

Enjoying Christmas with children

When the Partners kids visit

DADDY is no Barbapapa

attachment-parenting-education-with-heart-and-mind

Couch Potato, Bookworm, Computer Freak - When kids just sit at home

Theory of Mind - Children can already empathize with others


2000px-SciAm_Wavy_Text_Divider.svg.png

Bembelmaniac.pngFUR.png

2000px-SciAm_Wavy_Text_Divider.svg.png

dad-chronicals 2.png

helpienaut5.jpg

op gaming 2.jpg


38soxf7d6b.png

JOIN THE DISCORD


Follow VimmTV (@vimm) for frequent updates, contests and giveaways for our early adopters!

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Love this way of writing ! Next time go to second hand - everything is cheap. In sweden "second hand clothes" was "Christinas present of the year"

Posted using Partiko Android

😂😂😂 ich kann nicht mehr 😂😂😂GESTERN kamen Schneeanzüge für Kinder in die Aktion bei einem Bekannten Discounter mit blau-gelbem Logo und (mehr oder weniger) die gleiche Geschichte hat sich bei uns zu Hause abgespielt 😂😂
Und ja ‚WIR sollten...‘ ist bei uns Frauen ein Synonym für ‚DU MUSST...‘ 😂😂😂
Warum fühle ich mich so ertappt ... 😂

Posted using Partiko iOS

naja scheinbar habe ich bei dir ja genau den zapfen getroffen :D

What a story, I'm sure I am not the only parent smiling wistfully at your prose, we have all been there. I struggle all the time with "Want" and "Need", the latter tends to get lost in the urgency of desire.

What do we do? Our offspring are a microcosm of our own lives, for me I often reflect on how my life was growing up - and how I want my children to experience life. Hardship makes a solid firm grounding for life, it's not easy and learning to accept the downs with the ups is an essential part of development.

But if it is too hard then they may give up and feel despair. It's a delicate balance. I want to give my children the best I can, even if it means I have to sacrifice myself, but at the same time they have to appreciate what they get and learn from it.

So we come to reward for effort, as they grown and learn our children can do amazing things - and that is what should be rewarded. They often want to be independent and achieve on their own - but those little boosts in life help them achieve full potential.

Great post, very though provoking and it made me really think about my own life and family. Thank you for sharing.

c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance #witness

Hi @bembelmaniac!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.643 which ranks you at #5547 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 11 places in the last three days (old rank 5558).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 430 contributions, your post is ranked at #102.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62559.43
ETH 3092.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86