I CANT BELIEVE WE MADE IT

in #steemiteducation5 years ago

If you lived in the era of this video, you should be very happy as life was very different then.

 Image source

I actually feel sorry for children that they did not have the time or the possibility to live, and play like we did. 

It is not their faults that life has changed so much, but it just not safe anymore to bring your children up this way. 

There are too many people who walk around and they should not be breathing. 

I truly feel sorry for parents as they have to bring up their children in a different way. 

I remember my two standing in the back yard looking at a heap of sand in someone else’s yard, and walked out of the gate hand in hand, and went to play on the sand. 

image source

I was not worried that they were stolen, or missing as I started looking for them, but when I saw them they realised when we got home that they would never leave the home without permission again. 

They truly could not sit for a little while. 

They even told me up to the day they left home where they were going, and what time they would be back.

That is how we were brought up, and we raised our children the same way. 

Please if you were a child in the fifties up to the seventies do yourself a favour and watch this video. 

It does bring back a lot of memories to me, and I am sure it will to others as well.      

Sort:  

There is no gain without pain.
We learned rules, if we broke them we knew we would be eating off the mantlepiece for a couple of days.
We made a conscious decision, is the pain worth the prize?
We learned respect, you knew if you broke the rules, you knew what was coming, also people 10 - 15 years older were Mr, or Mrs/Miss, not Christian names.
On crowded public transport, you stood and offered an older person your seat. You opened/ held open doors for people, don't you get strange looks if you do that these days.
Having asked, we could play all day, as long as we were inside, cleaned up for tea, at dusk.

I think you are so wonderful as it feels as if I have known you all my life.
You think like I do, and we do have the same ideas.
Thank you so much for being my friend and writing me these beautiful replies.

One of the joys of being old and doddery, I no longer care what other people think, I am me, and it has taken a long time to make me, me.
I haven't got long enough to change me very much, so everybody takes me like I am, or use the door under the exit sign.
I like your ideas and will try and support you all I can.

Congratulations @bigbear! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Thank you so much.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01