Spending the whole day in the forest.

in #steemiteducation6 years ago


image source

Luan decided to spend the whole day in the forest as it was the last day of the holidays. 

Tomorrow the school will start and he will have homework and other things to do so his forest friends will feel a little lonely. 

He also wanted to see if he could make friends with some of the sad children like he and his father decided. That would mean there could probably be more happy children.

 

image source

He knew that his father was a very smart man and if at all possible he would help these children. 

He had breakfast with his mother and asked her if it was okay if he spent the day in the forest.

That sounds great, just make sure that all your school clothes still fit as it has been a long holiday, you might have grown. Luan went upstairs to look at his school clothes and fortunately everything was fine. 

image source

By the time he got to his mother she had packed him a basket for the day and he could go and see the animals. 

I am taking my fishing rod with, just to get that feeling of catching a fish again. I promise to put them back in the water. The monkeys had a lot of bananas yesterday, so today there will be none. I will take some carrots to the rabbits as I do not think they all got some. 

He walked into the forest and just stood there looking. I think this is the most beautiful place on earth to me. 

Today I also want to sit and watch some of the birds as there are so many, and I am sure I have not seen them all.  He made his place next to the stream, put his basket there locked of course as there were animals that came and stole his food. Luckily they never took his basket. 

image source

He took out his binoculars and started looking up at the trees. Then he saw a bird that was digging a whole into the wood, he wondered why. 

 It was a woodpecker, and he was so fascinated that he could not stop looking. Woodpeckers live in wooded areas and forests, where they tap on tree trunks in order to find insects living in crevices in the bark and to excavate nest cavities. Some species drum on trees to communicate to other woodpeckers and as a part of their courtship behavior. 

 https://defenders.org/woodpeckers/basic-facts 

This is what he read in his book on birds. He wondered if the woodpecker did not get tired from tapping on the tree, he also had a book that his grandfather had given him and was always carrying it in his basket, with him; the book was called Roberts’ Birds of South Africa. 

image source

He sat there watching this beautiful bird taking pictures to show his parents and tell them how he read all about them in the book his grandfather had given him. 

He sat and thought he always watches the big animals but he could really learn a lot from watching the birds. He read that they get there food there, and then carry on until they have a nest where they have their babies and they feel safe up there. Well from now on I am going to start learning about all the birds here not many children have the privilege I have of having a whole forest to look for birds and animals.

image source

This is a very clever bird and very beautiful. In this book it says that there are many different ones it is unbelievable. Maybe I should also start a book with all the pictures of the birds I learn from here. 

Mother will be very impressed with me. He sat there for hours watching this woodpecker; he then gave the rabbits their carrots when he ate his lunch. 

image source

They seemed to sit and wait for him to feed them. He laughed by himself and then decided to go catch a fish before going home as he really spent a lot of time watching this woodpecker. 

image source

It did not take very long as there was such a lot of fish in this little river of his he took it off the hook and then he put it back nicely into the water. 

image source

He packed everything up and said goodbye to the forest and animals as he knew it was school tomorrow. 

He is not allowed to come to the forest before he had done all his chores and his homework that gave him about an hour a day before it started getting dark. 

He will miss this holiday as it has been one of the best he ever had. When he got home his mother said you better have a good bath as your feet are very dirty and we must cut and clean your nails for school tomorrow. 

Luan put everything away and went for his bath. He really scrubbed himself and when his father came home he looked so clean and cute.

image source

 School tomorrow my boy can see your mother made you clean up very nicely. 

They had dinner and Luan went to bed at the time he has to when it is school. 

Children sleep earlier as they have to be nice and fresh when they go to school. 

Sleep tight and l love you son you can tell me about the bird tomorrow. 

They wished him good night and he fell asleep.

           

Sort:  

Good job dear.Keep it up

This is a GREAT one bigbear :) Maybe someday Luan will visit the fish market or the fish hatchery :) Have a GREAT start to your week friend .. SUNSHINE247

Thank you my friendly laughing friend I love your smile.

You bet bigbear .. I will pass any other thoughts on to you :) SUNSHINE247

Not just my mom, I know that my dad didn’t give my mom the love she deserved.

That’s why it’s important to me to love my wife because she deserves it all, and it’ll be good also that my children should have a good testimony about their parents.

This is a lovely story @bigbear.

I love that the kids was allowed to go and explore and the parent supported him in this activity. In today's society kids are often held back from something like this because of the fear parents have about the dangers out their in the world. At the first house I lived in with kids we had a couple neighbors with kids and I remember that these parents were extremely clingy with their children. I remember it so well because in some ways it made me feel like I was being negligent. My son (8 years old at the time) would ask to go out in the front to play with the other kids and of course I would say yes. I could see him from the window and wasn't worried. My parents would basically kick me out of the house and tell me not to come back till dinner so this seemed normal to me. The other parents were always right there hovering over their kids to ensure their safety. We lived on an a horseshoe shaped road and the kids would want to bike around it in circles. I would be in the front gardening while the kids went round and round. The neighbor moms would run beside their kids bikes to protect them from falling. It made me laugh inside but I also felt that these kids needed just a little freedom to be independent and explore. I've moved away and my son is 16 now but often wonder how sheltered those kids still are.

It is so difficult to keep children normal and happy like we use to years ago, I was an only child that is why I am enjoying writing about Luan so much. Lots of people say they like my stories, but I really enjoy writing them. We just argue about the computer as my husband also want write.
Thank you for such a beautiful reply from you.

I could learn something new. Thank you

What a good post always with an excellent combination some beautiful woodpeckers, water is Luan all fantastic friend thanks for sharing greetings

ini postingan yang bagus. saya sepakat dengan anda bahwa hutan penting dijaga. Hutan memberi kehidupan bagi manusia dan satwa di dalamnya.

Majestic post I love you thank you

Wonderful post
I like steemit education...I appreciate your writing blog.
Great teamsouthafrica...Resteemit.

This very nice post i appreciate your
Writing thanks for sharing this post...Best of luck ..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71443.06
ETH 3660.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73